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DEPARTMENT OF EDUCATION 

 

STATE BOARD OF EDUCATION 

 

DECLARATORY RULING, PROMULGATION OF RULES, AND 

INFORMATION REQUESTS 

 

 

(By authority conferred on the department of education by sections 33  and 63 of Act No. 

306 of the Public Acts of 1969, as amended,  being  SS24.233 and 24.263 of the 

Michigan Compiled Laws) 

 

 

R  340.1351   Definitions. 

  Rule 1. As used in these rules: 

  (a) "Department" means the department of education. 

  (b) "Person" means an individual, partnership, association, corporation, governmental 

subdivision, or public or private organization  of  any  kind other than the agency 

engaged in the declaratory ruling. 

  (c) "Superintendent" means the superintendent of public  instruction  as set forth in the 

Michigan Constitution, article 8, S3. 

 
  History:  1981 AACS. 
 

 

R  340.1352   Requests for declaratory rulings. 

  Rule 2. (1) An interested person may request that  the  state  board  of education  issue  a  

declaratory  ruling  on  how  a  statute   which   is administered by the department or  a  

rule  or  order  of  the  department applies to an actual state of facts. 

  (2) A request for a declaratory ruling shall be submitted to the  Office of the 

Superintendent, Department of Education, P.O. Box  30008,  Lansing, Michigan  48909.  

A  form  for  such  a  request  is  available  from  the department. A request shall contain 

all of the following information: 

  (a) A clear and concise statement of the  actual  state  of  facts  upon which a ruling will 

be based. 

  (b) A precise statement of the legal question or issue involved. 

  (c) The legal authority given to the department  for  administering  the statute, rule, or 

order. 

  (d) The signature of the interested person making the request. 

  (3) In addition to the request, an interested person may submit a  brief of, or other 

reference to, the  legal  authority  upon  which  the  person believes the declaratory ruling 

should be based. 

  (4) Within 5 days after receiving a submitted  request,  the  department shall notify the 

person making the request that the request was  received. 

  (5) Within 60 days after receiving a submitted request,  the  department shall notify the 

person as to whether a declaratory ruling will be  issued or denied. 
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  (6) If the request is denied, the state board of education shall issue a concise written 

statement of the reasons for denial. The denial  shall  be sent by certified mail to the 

person who made the request. 

  (7) If a declaratory ruling is issued, the ruling shall be  attached  to the notification and 

shall include all of the following: 

  (a) The actual state of facts upon which the ruling is based. 

  (b) The conclusions of law  based  on  the  legal  authority  which  the department relied 

on for its ruling. 

  (c) The ruling or determination made. 

  (8) The issuance or  denial  of  a  declaratory  ruling  shall  be  made available upon 

request. 

  (9) A ruling, once issued, is binding on the department  and  shall  not retroactively be 

changed. However, nothing  in  this  rule  prohibits  the department from prospectively 

changing a ruling. 

  (10) The department shall maintain  a  compilation  of  the  declaratory rulings. Upon an 

oral or written request to the department, a  person  may inspect, copy, or receive a copy 

of a declaratory ruling. 

 
  History:  1981 AACS. 
 

 

R  340.1353   Requests for promulgation of rules. 

  Rule 3. (1) Any person may request  the  state  board  of  education  to promulgate  a  

rule.  A  request  shall  contain  all  of  the   following information: 

  (a) The signature, address, and telephone number of  the  person  making the request. 

  (b) A citation to  the  statute  under  which  the  department  has  the authority to 

promulgate the rule. 

  (c) The reason for the request. 

  (2) A request for the promulgation of rules shall be  submitted  to  the Office of the 

Superintendent, Department  of  Education,  P.O. Box  30008, Lansing, Michigan 48909. 

Within 90 days after receiving a request which is in compliance with subrule (1) of this 

rule, the state board of  education shall initiate the processing of a rule or shall issue a 

written statement stating the reasons for denial of the request. The statement shall be sent 

by certified mail to the person who made the request. 

 
  History:  1981 AACS. 
 

 

R  340.1354   Availability of writings, documents, and other informational materials. 

  Rule 4. The department shall make information concerning its  activities and services  

available  to  the  public. All writings,  documents,  and informational materials of the 

department shall be made available  to  any person during normal working hours, except 

if the writings, documents,  or informational materials are, or may be, exempted from 

disclosure  by  law. The information available for public  inspection,  copying,  and  

purchase shall be the materials required under section 11 of Act No. 442  of  1976, as 

amended, being S15.241 of the Michigan Compiled Laws. 
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  History:  1981 AACS. 

 

 

R  340.1355   Requests for writings, documents,  and  other  informational materials. 

  Rule 5. (1) A  person  shall  request  writings,  documents,  and  other informational 

materials from the department by contacting: Office  of  the Superintendent, Michigan 

Department of Education, P.O. Box 30008, Lansing, Michigan 48909. The department 

shall answer the request or  shall  produce the materials for examination  and  copying  or  

shall  do  both.  If  the requested materials cannot be provided, the reason, in writing,  

shall  be forwarded to the person who made the request. If  original  materials  are 

inspected,  the  department  may  require  the  person  who  inspects  the materials to sign 

for them. 

  (2)  All  denials  of  requests  for  writings,  documents,  and   other informational 

materials shall be made in accordance with section 5 of  Act No. 442 of the Public Acts 

of 1976,  as  amended,  being  S15.235  of  the Michigan Compiled Laws. 

  (3) The department shall take  reasonable  precautions  to  protect  its public records and 

to prevent excessive and unreasonable  interference  in the discharge of its functions. 

  (4) The department may charge a fee for the duplication of materials  as provided by 

section 4 of Act No. 442  of  the  Public  Acts  of  1976,  as amended, being S15.234 of 

the Michigan Compiled Laws. 

 
  History:  1981 AACS; 1995 AACS. 

 

 


