## DEPARTMENT OF CONSUMER AND INDUSTRY SERVICES

## OFFICE OF HEALTH SERVICES

## MICHIGAN BOARD OF PODIATRIC MEDICINE AND SURGERY

## CONTINUING EDUCATION

(By authority conferred on the Michigan board of podiatric medicine and surgery by section 16145 of Act No. 368 of the Public Acts of 1978, as amended, being S333.16145 of the Michigan Compiled Laws)

R 338.3701 Annual renewal of podiatry licenses.

Rule 1. Beginning with the licensing year 1977, a licensee who files an application for renewal of license to practice podiatry shall furnish evidence to the board of registration in podiatry, hereinafter referred to as the board, that in the year preceding the application for renewal the licensee completed 50 hours of continuing podiatry education in courses of programs approved by the board.

History: 1979 AC.

R 338.3702 Categories of creditable continuing education activities.

Rule 2. The categories of creditable continuing podiatry education activities approved by the board and the maximum credit hours that may be earned in each category are as follows:

(a) Category 1: Continuing podiatry education with accredited sponsorship	50 hours
(b) Category 2: Continuing podiatry education with nonaccredited sponsorship	20 hours
(c) Category 3: Teaching podiatric physicians or the allied health services	16 hours
(d) Category 4: Books, papers, publications, and exhibits	15 hours
(e) Category 5: Nonsupervised study, including self-assessment, -instruction,	15 hours
specialty board examination preparation, quality care or utilization review	
(f) Category 6: Full-time participation in a graduate training program	50 hours

History: 1979 AC.

R 338.3703 Continuing podiatric education requirement.

Rule 3. (1) A minimum of 25 credit hours of the total 50-hour continuing podiatric education requirement shall be earned in category 1 or category 6. The remaining 25 credit hours may be earned in category 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, or 6. The credits must be earned in the 12-month period commencing March 1, and ending the last day of February in the year preceding application for renewal of licensure.

(2) One clock hour substantively spent meeting the requirements of category 1, 2, 4, 5, or 6 shall equal 1 credit hour for the purpose of satisfying the 50-hour continuing podiatric education requirement.

(3) One clock hour spent in instruction pursuant to category 3 shall equal 2 credit hours for the purpose of satisfying the 50-hour continuing podiatric education requirement.

History: 1979 AC.

R 338.3704 Category 1: Continuing podiatry education with accredited sponsorship and prior approval. Rule 4. (1) The board approves and adopts the criteria and guidelines for continuing education programs in podiatric medicine, form number Con. Pod. Ed. 720, adopted by the house of delegates of the American podiatry association in August, 1975, and will accept attendance at the programs approved by the council on podiatry education as credit towards the licensee's continuing podiatry education requirement for annual renewal of licensure. (2) The board approves and incorporates herein by reference the criteria and guidelines for approving continuing education programs in podiatric medicine, form number Con. Pod. Ed. 730, adopted in August, 1975, by the house of delegates of the American podiatry association. Attendance at continuing education programs not approved by the council on podiatry education may be accepted by the board as credit towards the licensee's continuing podiatry education requirement for annual renewal of licensure only if the sponsoring organization or institution has first submitted such information as may be determined by the board as necessary to establish that the sponsoring organization or institution is in conformance with the aforesaid standards, and only if, thereafter, the board approves the sponsoring organization or institution. Copies of the referenced material may be obtained from the office of the board of podiatry or S. P. Nyman, D.P.M., Executive Director, American Podiatry Association, 20 Chevy Chase Circle, N.W., Washington, D.C. 20015.

History: 1979 AC.

R 338.3705 Category 2: Continuing podiatry education with nonaccredited sponsorship.

Rule 5. A maximum of 20 credit hours may be earned by attendance at continuing podiatric education programs offered by organizations or institutions that are not approved in accordance with category 1 if the sponsor of the program submits such information as may be determined by the board to be necessary to establish the quality of the program, and if, thereafter, the board approves the program. A licensee may submit programs from seminars or conventions for individual consideration when the sponsoring organization has not applied to the board for program approval.

History: 1979 AC.

R 338.3706 Category 3: Teaching podiatric physicians or allied health services.

Rule 6. (1) A maximum of 16 credit hours may be earned for serving as an instructor of podiatry students, house staff, other physicians, or allied health professionals in a hospital or institution with a training program approved by the board if the hospital or institution has approved the instruction. A maximum of 16 credit hours may be similarly obtained in a hospital or institution that does not have a training program approved by the board if the sponsor of the program submits such information as may be determined by the board to be necessary to establish the quality of the instructional programs approved by that hospital or institution.

(2) A maximum of 16 credit hours may be earned by a licensee who teaches students of accredited podiatry colleges under a rotating externship or clerkship program recognized and approved by the college.

History: 1979 AC.

R 338.3707 Category 4: Books, papers, publications, and exhibits.

Rule 7. (1) A maximum of 15 credit hours may be earned under category 4, with specific maximum credits indicated in the subcategories described below. Credit may be earned only during the year of presentation of publication.

(2) A maximum of 10 credit hours may be earned for preparation and initial presentation of a scientific exhibit at a professional meeting if sufficient information regarding the preparation and presentation has first been submitted to the board and if it is thereafter approved by the board.

(3) A maximum of 10 credit hours may be earned for preparation and initial presentation of a formal original scientific paper before a professional meeting if sufficient information regarding the preparation and presentation has first been submitted to the board and if it is thereafter approved by the board.

(4) A maximum of 10 credit hours may be earned for preparation and initial publication of an original scientific article or a chapter in a book, in a journal, or in a publication listed in the publication entitled "Index Medicus."

History: 1979 AC.

R 338.3708 Category 5: Nonsupervised study.

Rule 8. (1) A maximum of 15 credit hours may be earned under category 5, with specific maximum credit hours indicated under the subcategories described below. Credit may be earned only for the year in which the study, preparation, care, or review occurred.

(2) A maximum of 10 credit hours may be earned for completion of a media program if sufficient information regarding the program has first been submitted to the board and if the board thereafter approves the program.

(3) A maximum of 10 credit hours may be earned for the independent reading of scientific journals approved by the board.

(4) A maximum of 10 credit hours may be earned for preparation for specialty board certification or recertification examination if sufficient information regarding the preparation has first been submitted to the board and if, thereafter, it is approved by the board.

(5) A maximum of 10 credit hours may be earned for participation on a staff committee for quality care or utilization review in a hospital or institution if sufficient information regarding the standards of such committees of the hospital or institution has first been submitted to the board and if standards are thereafter approved by the board.

History: 1979 AC.

R 338.3709 Category 6: Full-time participation in a graduate training program.

Rule 9. A maximum of 50 credit hours may be earned for enrollment in a graduate training program in a hospital or institution approved by the board.

History: 1979 AC.

R 338.3710 Approval of continuing education program or credit hours.

Rule 10. (1) A person or organization seeking approval of a continuing education program or credit hours shall request forms and instructions from the board at the following address:

Michigan Board of Podiatry 1116 South Washington Avenue Lansing, Michigan 48926

(2) The board shall not consider a request for approval until such time as the information required by the forms and instructions has been

submitted. However, the board may approve programs in any of the aforementioned categories on a retroactive basis, at its discretion.

(3) Recognizing the variety of requests for approval which may be submitted, the board reserves the right to deny approval whenever it appears that the request fails to demonstrate compliance with the legislative intent to further the education of licensees on subjects related to the practice of podiatry.

(4) In instances of prior approved programs, the board of registration will be receiving lists of those registered for the program. This list is for verification of registration. The individual hours for lectures attended shall be enumerated and verified by the individual practitioner on the reapplication for licensure. (5) Credit hours in excess of 50 shall not be carried forward to the next licensing year.

History: 1979 AC.

R 338.3711 Certification of compliance.

Rule 11. (1) In conjunction with the application for renewal of licensure, a licensee shall submit an affidavit of compliance with the 50-hour continuing podiatry education requirement on a form supplied by the board.

(2) The board reserves the right to require a licensee to submit evidence, in addition to the affidavit, to demonstrate compliance with the 50-hour continuing podiatry education requirement. Accordingly, it is the responsibility of a licensee to maintain evidence of that compliance.

History: 1979 AC.

R 338.3712 Rescission.

Rule 12. The rules of the board entitled "One-day Educational Programs," being R 338.331 to R 338.335 of the Michigan Administrative Code and appearing on page 3666 of the 1966 Annual Supplement to the Code, are rescinded.

History: 1979 AC.