DEPARTMENT OF CONSUMER AND INDUSTRY SERVICES

BUREAU OF CONSTRUCTION CODES

STATE PLUMBING BOARD

LICENSES

(By authority conferred on the state plumbing board by section 5 of Act No. 266 of the Public Acts of 1929, as amended, being S338.905 of the Michigan Compiled Laws)

R 338.921 Examination; qualifications.

Rule 1. Any person who is 19 years of age or over and who possesses the necessary qualifications may apply for examination for a journey plumber's license. Any person who is 21 years of age or over, who possesses the necessary qualifications, and who can read and write English may apply for examination for a master plumber's license.

History: 1954 AC; 1979 AC; 1985 AACS.

R 338.922 Application for journey plumber's and master plumber's examinations.

Rule 2. Application for examination for a journey plumber's license or for examination for a master plumber's license shall be made with a proper application blank which shall be furnished by the state plumbing board. The application for examination shall be made to the state plumbing board at Lansing, Michigan, and shall be accompanied with the legal fee prescribed in Act No. 266 of the Public Acts of 1929, as amended, being \$338.901 et seq. of the Michigan Compiled Laws.

History: 1954 AC; 1979 AC; 1985 AACS.

R 338.923 Qualifications of applicants for a journey plumber's examination.

- Rule 3. (1) To qualify for examination for a journey plumber's license, the applicant shall furnish, either on or with his or her application, a notarized statement from his or her present or former employers to the effect that he or she has had not less than 3 years of experience as an apprentice in the practical installation of plumbing under the supervision of a master plumber.
- (2) When evidence is produced to the effect that the applicant is a graduate of, or is attending, a recognized trade school, proper credit will be given the applicant, but such credit shall not exceed 1 year of the required 3 years of practical experience as an apprentice.
- (3) If the applicant is unable to conform to any of the requirements in subrules (1) and (2) of this rule, he or she may, upon written request, appear before a quorum of the state plumbing board to present evidence as to his or her eligibility for examination.
- (4) A person who is licensed as a journey plumber in another state or country may, upon written request, appear before a quorum of the state plumbing board to present evidence as to his or her possession of a journey plumber license. Upon a determination of the state plumbing board that the journey plumber license was obtained by the person through substantially the same or equal requirements as those of the state of Michigan, the state plumbing board may allow that person to take the Michigan journey plumber examination.

History: 1954 AC; 1979 AC; 1985 AACS.

R 338.924 Qualifications of applicants for master plumber's examination.

- Rule 4. (1) To qualify for examination for a master plumber's license, the applicant shall be on record in the state plumbing board office as having had not less than 2 years of experience as a state of Michigan licensed journey plumber immediately preceding the date of his or her application.
- (2) If the applicant is unable to conform to the requirements of subrule (1) of this rule, he or she may, upon written request, appear before a quorum of the state plumbing board to present evidence as to his or her eligibility for examination.
- (3) A person who is licensed as a master plumber in another state or country may, upon written request, appear before a quorum of the state plumbing board to present evidence as to his or her possession of a master plumber license. Upon a determination of the state plumbing board that the master plumber license was obtained by the person through substantially the same or equal requirements as those of the state of Michigan, the state plumbing board may allow that person to take the Michigan master plumber examination.

History: 1954 AC; 1979 AC; 1985 AACS.

R 338.925 Investigation of applicants.

- Rule 5. (1) The character, experience, and fitness of the applicants shall also be taken into consideration. The board reserves the right to investigate any applicant, or application filed, and approve or disapprove the same.
- (2) Upon the acceptance, or rejection, of any application the state plumbing board will immediately notify the applicant at the address given in the application. In the event an application is rejected the application fee will be refunded.

History: 1954 AC; 1979 AC.

R 338.926 Time of examinations.

Rule 6. If the applications on file warrant, the state plumbing board will conduct examinations in the months of March, June, September, and December of each year in the Lower Peninsula at a place designated by the board. If the applications on file warrant, the state plumbing board shall conduct an examination in the Upper Peninsula once each year at a place designated by the board.

History: 1954 AC; 1979 AC; 1985 AACS.

R 338.927 Acceptance of applications.

Rule 7. An application shall not be accepted, and an admission letter shall not be issued, for a scheduled examination unless the application has been on file in the Lansing plumbing division office for not less than 20 calendar days before the date of the next scheduled examination. However, the application may be accepted, and the admission letter issued, if the applicant appears before a quorum of the board and presents a satisfactory explanation for his or her failure to file his or her application in accordance with the 20-day provision. A letter of admission to any examination shall not be renewed, except in cases of illness. The illness shall be confirmed by a statement from the attending physician. The board may grant a renewal of an admission letter following a personal appearance of the applicant before a quorum of the board to make a satisfactory explanation of his or her absence from the scheduled examination.

History: 1954 AC; 1979 AC; 1985 AACS.

R 338.928 Notice of examinations.

Rule 8. Notice of the time and place of examination shall be mailed to those applicants whose applications have been accepted and are on file in the Lansing plumbing division office for not less than 20 calendar days before the date of the next scheduled examination. This notice shall

instruct the applicant as to the tools and materials which the applicant is required to furnish. It shall also include an admission letter which shall be presented to the examiners, by the applicant, at the time and place of the scheduled examination designated in the admission letter. The applicant shall present current picture identification, such as a driver's license, to the examiners at the time of the examination.

History: 1954 AC; 1979 AC; 1985 AACS.

R 338.929 Failure to appear for examination.

Rule 9. If any applicant fails to appear for the examination designated in the admission letter, and fails to make a satisfactory explanation for his or her absence to the state plumbing board within 10 days following the scheduled examination, his or her application will be cancelled and the application fee forfeited.

History: 1954 AC; 1979 AC; 1985 AACS.

R 338.930 Scope of examinations.

Rule 10. (1) The examinations of all applicants for licenses shall be conducted by the state plumbing board.

- (2) The examination of applicants for journey plumber's license shall consist of oral, written, and practical tests. The written test shall cover the general theory and practice of plumbing and knowledge of the Michigan plumbing rules. The practical test shall cover the applicant's ability to perform such mechanical work connected with the trade of plumbing as the board deems necessary.
- (3) The examination of an applicant for a master plumber's license shall consist of oral, written, and practical tests, as well as the interpretation of charts and blueprints. The written test shall cover the general theory and practice of plumbing, knowledge of the Michigan plumbing rules, knowledge of the state laws governing plumbers and plumbing, and such other matters pertaining to the best interests of the general public through the practice of plumbing. The practical test shall cover the applicant's ability to perform such mechanical work connected with the plumbing trade as the board deems necessary.
- (4) To qualify for a license, all applicants shall be required to receive a minimum grade of 70% in each phase of the examination.

History: 1954 AC; 1979 AC; 1985 AACS.

R 338.931 Reexamination.

Rule 11. If any applicant for a journey plumber's license does not receive a passing grade, his or her application will be cancelled and fees forfeited. If any applicant for a master plumber's license does not receive a passing grade, his or her application will be cancelled and fees forfeited. Any applicant who fails to pass his or her examination for a license as a master plumber or journey plumber may be examined at the next scheduled examination.

History: 1954 AC; 1979 AC; 1985 AACS.

R 338.932 Rescission.

Rule 12. The rules entitled "Rules Governing Examinations--Competency of Plumbers," appearing on pages 498 and 499 of the 1944 Michigan Administrative Code, are rescinded.

History: 1954 AC; 1979 AC.

Editor's note: The code referred to in this rule is the Michigan

Administrative Code of 1944