## DEPARTMENT OF CONSUMER AND INDUSTRY SERVICES

### BUREAU OF CONSTRUCTION CODES

#### **BOARD OF MECHANICAL RULES**

#### LICENSE EXAMINATION PROCEDURES

(By authority conferred on the board of mechanical rules by section 5 of Act No. 192 of the Public Acts of 1984, being S338.975 of the Michigan Compiled Laws)

### R 338.901 Definitions.

Rule 901. (1) As used in these rules:

- (a) "Act" means Act No. 192 of the Public Acts of 1984, being S338.971 et seq. of the Michigan Compiled Laws.
- (b) "Board" means the board of mechanical rules.
- (c) "Department" means the department of labor.
- (d) "Classification" means the work categories covered by the act.
- (2) A term defined in the act has the same meaning when used in these rules.

History: 1986 AACS.

Editor's note: Former R 338.901 to R 338.914, pertaining to the state plumbing code, were rescinded by R 408.30709, effective May 19, 1975.

R 338.902 Applications; form; fee; grounds for denial of application and forfeiture of fee.

Rule 902. (1) An applicant shall submit, to the department, in Lansing, an application on the form prepared and furnished by the department.

- (2) An application shall be accompanied by the fee prescribed in the act.
- (3) An applicant who seeks licensure in more than 1 work classification on a single application shall only be required to pay 1 examination fee.
- (4) Each question on the application shall be answered in its entirety.
- (5) An incomplete application shall be returned to the applicant for completion and then resubmitted to the department within 15 days after the date of the department's request.
- (6) Failure to comply with the requirement of subrule (5) of this rule is grounds for denial of the application.

History: 1986 AACS.

Editor's note: Former R 338.901 to R 338.914, pertaining to the state plumbing code, were rescinded by R 408.30709, effective May 19, 1975.

#### R 338.903 Examination qualifications.

Rule 903. (1) To qualify for examination, the applicant shall furnish, either on or with the application, a notarized statement or statements from present or former employers to the effect that the applicant has a minimum of 3 years of experience in 1 or more of the work classifications set forth in the act. The notarized statement shall show the type of work performed and the length of time work was performed.

(2) When evidence is produced to the effect that an applicant is a graduate of, or is attending, a recognized trade school, credit shall be given the applicant, but such credit shall not exceed 1 year of the required 3 years of experience.

- (3) If the applicant is unable to comply with any of the requirements in subrules (1) and (2) of this rule, he or she shall, upon written request, appear before a representative of the department and a quorum of the board to present evidence as to his or her eligibility for examination.
- (4) An applicant shall be of good moral character as defined in Act No. 381 of the Public Acts of 1974, as amended, being S338.41 et seq. of the Michigan Compiled Laws.
- (5) The department shall have the right to investigate any applicant as to character and experience.
- (6) The department may approve or deny an application for examination based upon the requisites established by the act and these rules.

History: 1986 AACS.

Editor's note: Former R 338.901 to R 338.914, pertaining to the state plumbing code, were rescinded by R 408.30709, effective May 19, 1975.

# R 338.904 Acceptance of applications.

Rule 904. (1) An application shall not be accepted, and an admission card shall not be issued, for a scheduled examination unless the completed application has been on file in the Lansing office for not less than 20 calendar days before the date of the next scheduled examination.

(2) An admission card shall not be renewed unless the applicant provides a written explanation of his or her absence from the scheduled examination to the department within 10 calendar days after the scheduled examination.

History: 1986 AACS.

Editor's note: Former R 338.901 to R 338.914, pertaining to the state plumbing code, were rescinded by R 408.30709, effective May 19, 1975.

# R 338.905 Time of examinations.

Rule 905. (1) The department shall conduct an examination at least once each calendar quarter at a time and place designated by the board and the department.

(2) If the applications on file warrant, an examination shall be conducted in the Upper Peninsula once each year at a place designated by the board and the department.

History: 1986 AACS.

Editor's note: Former R 338.901 to R 338.914, pertaining to the state plumbing code, were rescinded by R 408.30709, effective May 19, 1975.

# R 338.906 Examination of applicants; exceptions.

Rule 906. Except for the following persons, an applicant for a license shall take a written examination for each work classification for which he or she seeks licensure:

- (a) An applicant who is a legally authorized mechanical contractor in another state or country if the licensing requirements of the state or country are considered by the board and the department to be substantially equivalent to the licensing requirements of this state and if the state or country observes reciprocity in regard to mechanical contractors licensed in this state.
- (b) An applicant who is certified to install, modify, test, service, inspect, or maintain fire suppression systems under Act No. 207 of the Public Acts of 1941, as amended, being S29.1 et seq. of the Michigan Compiled Laws, and who seeks licensure under the act only in the fire suppression work classification.

History: 1986 AACS.

Editor's note: Former R 338.901 to R 338.914, pertaining to the state plumbing code, were rescinded by R 408.30709, effective May 19, 1975.

R 338.907 Examinations; notice; identification.

Rule 907. (1) Notice of the time, place, and date of the examination shall be mailed to those applicants whose applications have been accepted and are on file in the Lansing office for not less than 20 calendar days before the date of the next scheduled examination.

(2) An applicant appearing for examination shall present the admission card issued by the department and a current picture identification, such as a driver's license.

History: 1986 AACS.

Editor's note: Former R 338.901 to R 338.914, pertaining to the state plumbing code, were rescinded by R 408.30709, effective May 19, 1975.

R 338.908 Review and approval of form and content of examination; scope of examinations; minimum grade for qualification for license for work classification.

Rule 908. (1) The department and the board, acting jointly, shall review and approve the form and content of the examination or other test.

- (2) The examination shall consist of a written test for each work classification.
- (3) An examination shall cover the general theories and practices of the specific work classification, knowledge of the mechanical code, and applicable laws.
- (4) To qualify for a license for a work classification, an applicant shall be required to receive a minimum grade of 70% in the examination for the work classification for which licensure is being sought.

History: 1986 AACS.

Editor's note: Former R 338.901 to R 338.914, pertaining to the state plumbing code, were rescinded by R 408.30709, effective May 19, 1975.

R 338.909 Notification of results of examination.

Rule 909. An applicant shall be notified of the results of an examination within 30 days after completing the examination. A license shall be issued pursuant to R 338.911 within 10 working days after receipt of the license fee.

History: 1986 AACS.

Editor's note: Former R 338.901 to R 338.914, pertaining to the state plumbing code, were rescinded by R 408.30709, effective May 19, 1975.

## R 338.910 Subsequent examinations.

Rule 910. (1) An applicant who fails to receive a passing grade on any part of the examination may take a second examination, without additional charge, by submitting a written request to retake the next scheduled examination.

- (2) An applicant applying for a second examination need only complete the portions of the examination which he or she failed on the first examination.
- (3) Notice for the second examination shall be made in the same manner as provided for in the first examination.
- (4) Application for a second examination shall be filed in the Lansing office within 20 calendar days of the next scheduled examination.
- (5) On the failure of an applicant to qualify for licensure after a second examination, the applicant shall be required to reapply for examination, on a form for reexamination to be provided by the department, and pay the fee prescribed in the act.

History: 1986 AACS.

Editor's note: Former R 338.901 to R 338.914, pertaining to the state plumbing code, were rescinded by R 408.30709, effective May 19, 1975.

### R 338.911 Licenses; issuance.

Rule 911. (1) The department shall issue a license only after an applicant has successfully completed all requirements of the act and these rules, including the receiving of the minimum passing grade on the work classifications to be covered by the license, and paid the license fee prescribed in the act.

- (2) A license shall be issued to an applicant for work classifications for which he or she was successfully examined, even where there may be some other classifications for which the applicant did not qualify during the examination.
- (3) The board shall establish limits for the issuance of a specialty license.
- (4) A license issued shall expire on December 31 of each year and shall be renewable within 60 days after that date upon payment of the fee prescribed in the act.

History: 1986 AACS.

Editor's note: Former R 338.901 to R 338.914, pertaining to the state plumbing code, were rescinded by R 408.30709, effective May 19, 1975.

#### R 338.912 Renewal of voided license; examination.

Rule 912. A person who renews his or her license within 3 years after the license is voided shall not be subject to reexamination for the license. A person who does not renew his or her license within the 3 years shall be required to apply for examination pursuant to R 338.902.

History: 1986 MR 8, Eff. Sept. 2, 1986.

Editor's note: Former R 338.901 to R 338.914, pertaining to the state plumbing code, were rescinded by R 408.30709, effective May 19, 1975.

#### R 338.913 Application for additional work classifications.

Rule 913. A person who desires to add additional work classifications to those indicated on the license shall apply for the additional work classifications on a regular application form pursuant to R 338.902.

History: 1986 AACS.

Editor's note: Former R 338.901 to R 338.914, pertaining to the state plumbing code, were rescinded by R 408.30709, effective May 19, 1975.

## R 338.914 Inactive license.

Rule 914. (1) An applicant for a license who completes all of the requirements of these rules for a license may request that the license be retained by the department as inactive.

- (2) An inactive license shall become void if not renewed within 3 years after its preparation.
- (3) An inactive license shall be issued as active upon the request of the applicant.

History: 1986 AACS.

Editor's note: Former R 338.901 to R 338.914, pertaining to the state plumbing code, were rescinded by R 408.30709, effective May 19, 1975.