## DEPARTMENT OF COMMUNITY HEALTH

## BUREAU OF EPIDEMIOLOGY

## TRANSPORTATION AND DISPOSITION OF DEAD BODIES

(By authority conferred on the state commissioner of health by section 1 of Act No. 343 of the Public Acts of 1925, being S326.1 of the Michigan Compiled Laws)

R 325.1141 Preparation and transportation of bodies dead from certain causes; permission for public funeral.

Rule 1. (1) The bodies of those who have died of diphtheria, meningococcic infections, plague, poliomyelitis, scarlet fever, or smallpox shall not be transported or accepted for transportation unless they have been prepared for shipment by being thoroughly embalmed and disinfected by arterial and cavity injection with an accepted embalming fluid. This preparation must be effected by an embalmer licensed with the state of Michigan.

(2) When bodies are transported under this rule, notice must be sent by the shipping embalmer to the health officer of the jurisdiction where the body is to be received, advising the date and time of arrival.

(3) Public funerals may be conducted, provided that prior permission is

obtained from the local health officer. When permission is granted, persons in isolated areas may be released for the purpose of accompanying the body to a funeral home, church, or cemetery, provided that they:

(a) Use a separate car or means of conveyance.

(b) Remain in a separate room or separate from the public and avoid proximity to others in attendance.

(c) Return to the area of isolation and remain there until premises are released from isolation or quarantine.

History: 1954 AC; 1979 AC.

R 325.1142 Transportation of certain bodies in sound shipping case; preparation for shipment; burial-transit or disinterment permit.

Rule 2. Bodies dead from a cause not named in R 325.1141 which shall reach their destination within 48 hours from the time of death, or are addressed to the demonstrator of anatomy of a medical college or for other demonstration purposes, may be received for transportation when encased in a sound shipping case. If the body is not so addressed or cannot reach its destination within 48 hours it must be prepared for shipment as described in R 325.1141. When dead bodies are shipped by common carrier, a burial-transit or disinterment permit shall be securely fastened upon the outside box, and a duplicate of such permit shall be mailed to the receiving funeral director.

History: 1954 AC; 1979 AC.

R 325.1143 Disinterment and removal; permit; transportation; container; responsibility of funeral director; receiving vaults; reinterment.

Rule 3. No body shall be disinterred for removal unless a permit has been issued by the local health officer upon request from a licensed funeral director. No disinterred body shall be accepted for transportation by common carrier unless it has been enclosed in a hermetically sealed metal container which will insure against leakage, offensive odors, and other menaces to the public health and safety to its destination. Disinterred bodies may be transported by private vehicle under the supervision of a licensed funeral director when enclosed in any suitable container which will insure against leakage, offensive odors, and other menaces to the public health and safety to its destination.

charge of disinterment shall be responsible for the proper conduct of the disinterment and removal. Bodies deposited in receiving vaults, or otherwise kept for 30 days after death, will be considered and treated the same as buried bodies. No permit is necessary when reinterment is to take place within the same cemetery.

History: 1954 AC; 1979 AC.

## R 325.1144 Burial-transit permit.

Rule 4. Permission is hereby given by the Michigan department of health to registrars, mortuary science and funeral director licensees to have full authority to make out and sign a new burial-transit permit where a dead human body is transferred beyond the destination point as given on the burial-transit permit which accompanies the body. The same applies to cases where bodies are placed in a cemetery vault and transferred at some later date. The original burial-transit permit which accompanies the body must be given to the registrar, mortuary science, or funeral director licensee before a new burial-transit permit is made by him authorizing the transfer. The person issuing the new permit must indicate the point of destination on the original burial-transit permit. When a mortuary science or funeral director licensee issues a new burial-transit permit, the original burial-transit permit must be filed within 72 hours with the registrar in whose jurisdiction the transfer was made.

History: 1954 AC; 1979 AC.

R 325.1145 Removal of body from incorporated or unincorporated area; death or stillbirth certificate; burial-transit permit; duty of county clerk.

Rule 5. (1) When a mortuary science or funeral director licensee is called upon to remove a body from an incorporated or unincorporated area, the mortuary science or funeral director licensee may remove the body for the purpose of caring for it but is required to file a completed death or stillbirth certificate and secure a burial-transit permit within 72 hours from the local registrar of the incorporated or unincorporated area in which the death occurred.

(2) If a death occurs in an unincorporated area, when a Sunday or a holiday or both, or when an immediate interment, cremation, or shipment makes it impossible to obtain a burial-transit permit by mail, a mortuary science or funeral director licensee may issue a burial-transit permit to himself, provided that the envelope in which the completed death or stillbirth certificate is mailed to the county clerk in whose jurisdiction the death occurred is postmarked within the 72 hours after the death occurred.

(3) If for any other reason a burial-transit permit has not been received by mail in time for the interment, cremation, or shipment, the mortuary science or funeral director licensee may issue a burial-transit permit to himself, provided that the envelope in which the completed death or stillbirth certificate was mailed to the county clerk in whose jurisdiction the death occurred is postmarked within the 72 hours after the death occurred.

(4) When a county clerk receives a death or stillbirth certificate from his primary registration district by mail, he shall enter on the certificate, as the date of filing, the date on which the certificate or

certificates were received and shall also enter beneath the date of filing the postdate appearing on the envelope in which the certificate or certificates arrived.

History: 1954 AC; 1979 AC.