DEPARTMENT OF LICENSING AND REGULATORY AFFAIRS
DIRECTOR’S OFFICE
BOARD OF REAL ESTATE APPRAISERS - GENERAL RULES

(By authority conferred on the director of the department of licensing and regulatory
affairs by sections 205, 308, 2605, and 2617 of 1980 PA 299, MCL 339.205, 339.308,
339.2605, and 339.2617, and Executive Reorganization Order Nos. 1996-2, 2003-1, and
2008-4, MCL 445.2001, MCL 445.2011, and MCL 445.2025)

PART 1. GENERAL PROVISIONS

R 339.23101 Definitions.

Rule 101. (1) As used in these rules:

(a) "Act" means 1980 PA 299, MCL 339.101, and known as the occupational code.

(b) "Appraiser qualifications board criteria” or "agb criteria” means the standards for
education, experience, and examination to become a limited appraiser, state licensed
appraiser, certified residential appraiser, certified general appraiser, or an instructor of
the uniform standards of professional appraisal practice (uspap) under MCL
339.2601(b). A copy of the criteria is available for download at no charge at
www.appraisalfoundation.org. The aqgb criteria can also be viewed at the department
of licensing and regulatory affairs, bureau of commercial services, 2501 Woodlake
Circle, Okemos, Michigan 48864.

(c) "Board" means the board of real estate appraisers.

(d) "Department™ means the Michigan department of licensing and regulatory affairs.

(e) "Licensee” means an individual who is licensed under article 26 of the act, including
a limited real estate appraiser, a state-licensed real estate appraiser, a
certified residential real estate appraiser, or a certified general real estate appraiser.

(F) "Market analysis as performed by a real estate licensee” means the activity
defined in section 2601(a)(i) and (ii) of the act, and means analysis solely for the
purpose of establishing potential sale, purchase, or listing price of real property or the
rental rate of real property and is not for the purpose of evaluating a property for
mortgage lenders in the primary or secondary mortgage market.

(9) "Transaction value" means any of the following:

(i) For loans or other extensions of credit, the amount of the loan or the extension of
credit.

(ii) For sales, leases, purchases, and investments, or in exchanges of real property, the
market value of the real property interest involved.

(iii) For the pooling of loans or interests in real property for resale or purchase, the
amount of the loan or market value of the real property calculated with respect to each
such loan or interest in real property.

(h) "Uniform standards of professional appraisal practice™ or "uspap™ means the uniform
standards of professional appraisal practice, published by the appraisal foundation, as
adopted in R 339.23102.
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(2) Terms defined in articles 1 to 6 and 26 of the act have the same meanings when used
in these rules.

History: 1996 AACS; 2002 AACS; 2003 AACS; 2004 AACS; 2006 AACS; 2007 AACS;2010 AACS;
2013 AACS.

R 339.23102. Adoption by reference.

Rule 102. (1) The board adopts the agb criteria for education, experience, examination,
and instructors of uspap under MCL 339.2601(b).

(2) The board adopts the 2012-13 edition of the uspap, effective January 1, 2012.
Copies of the uspap are available at a cost at the time of adoption of these rules of $75.00
plus $10.50 for shipping from the Appraisal Foundation, 1155 15th Street NW, Suite
1111, Washington DC; 20005. Mail orders are available at the following address: P.O.
Box 381, Annapolis Junction, MD 20101-0381, toll-free phone: 800/348-2831 or regular
phone: 240/646-7010. The uspap and previous editions may be reviewed at the bureau
of commercial services, 2501 Woodlake Circle, Okemos Michigan 48864. The current
edition may be purchased from the department of licensing and regulatory affairs by
mailing to the bureau at P.O. Box 30018, Lansing MI 48909, phone: 517/241-9201, at a
cost as of the time of adoption of these rules of $75.00 plus $10.50 for shipping and
handling costs.

History: 2007 AACS; 2010 AACS; 2013 AACS.

R 339.23103 Board meetings.
Rule 103. All board meetings are conducted in accordance with 1976 PA 267, MCL
15.261 et seq., known as the open meetings act, and are open to the public.

History: 1996 AACS; 2002 AACS.

PART 2. LICENSING

R 339.23201 Acceptable appraisal experience generally.

Rule 201. (1) Credit for appraisal experience shall be based on the actual performance
of appraisals. The department shall not grant experience credit to an applicant solely on
the basis of total hours of employment in an appraisal firm or other entity. The actual
performance of appraisals includes time spent in such professional activities as
personally inspecting real property, conducting research and developing materials
supporting the appraisal, preparing the content of appraisal reports, and presenting the
appraisal to the client. It does not include time spent in the solicitation of business,
negotiation and development of client agreements, clerical tasks, or business
accounting and collections, even though such tasks may be appropriately billed to a
client as a necessary part of performing the appraisal.
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(2) Credit shall not be given for performing more than 40 hours per week of
professional experience unless specific experience, which is verified by a supervisor,
can be provided to demonstrate that an individual worked more hours in that week.
However, experience in excess of 40 hours a week that is obtained before January 1,
1992, may be verified by a supervisor's affidavit.

(3) Hours credited per appraisal shall be credited based upon the number of hours spent
on each assignment, not to exceed the number of hours in the following table:
Requests for exceptions shall be approved or denied by the department.

PROPERTY TYPES MAX.
ALLOWABLE HOURS

SINGLE

FAMILY RESIDENTIAL 8

RESIDENTIAL MULTI FAMILY

(2 to 4 UNITS) 20

RESIDENTIAL MULTI FAMILY

(5 to 12 UNITS) 36

RESIDENTIAL MULTI FAMILY

(13 OR MORE UNITS) 40

RESIDENTIAL LOT 6

SUBDIVISIONS 40

RURAL RESIDENTIAL LAND

(IMPROVED 20 ACRES OR LESS) 16

RURAL RESIDENTIAL LAND

(VACANT 20 ACRES OR LESS) 12

AGRICULTURAL FARM OR FOREST LAND 40

INDUSTRIAL (INDUSTRIAL PARK,
BUSINESS CAMPUS, WAREHOUSING,

MANUFACTURING PLANT, ETC.) 40
INDUSTRIAL PARK OR BUSINESS
CAMPUS LAND (VACANT) 24
MULTI FAMILY LAND (VACANT) 24
COMMERCIAL PROPERTIES: SINGLE 40
TENANT
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MULTI TENANT(IMPROVED 80
OFFICE BLDG, RETAIL STORE,

RESTAURANT, SERVICE STATION,

BANK, DAY CARE CENTER, NURSING

HOME, ETC.)

COMMERCIAL LAND (VACANT) 24

(4) Qualifying experience in performing real estate appraisals on or after January 1,
1992, shall be obtained while the individual is licensed as a limited real estate
appraiser, certified residential real estate appraiser, or state licensed real estate appraiser
or is properly exempt from licensing.

(5) A limited real estate appraiser shall be subject to direct supervision by a supervising
appraiser who shall be a certified residential appraiser or a certified general appraiser.
The supervising appraiser shall be responsible for the training and direct supervision of
the limited real estate appraiser by accepting responsibility for the appraisal report by
signing and certifying that the report is in compliance with the uniform standards of
professional appraisal practice by doing both of the following:

(a) Reviewing the limited appraiser's appraisal report or reports.

(b) Personally inspecting each appraised property with the limited real estate
appraiser until the supervising appraiser determines the limited appraiser is competent
in accordance with the competency provision of the uniform standards of professional
appraisal practice (USPAP) for the property type. Separate logs shall be maintained for
each supervising appraiser, and each log shall contain the signature, the license or
certification number, and the level of licensure of the supervising appraiser.

History: 1996 AACS; 2002 AACS; 2006 ; 2007 AACS.

R 339.23203 Appraisal experience; satisfactory evidence.

Rule 203. (1) For an applicant's experience hours to be accepted, the experience
shall be in compliance with both of the following requirements, as applicable:

(@) Appraisal experience shall be demonstrated by copies of reports and file
memoranda. A detailed log shall be submitted to the department which includes at least
the following information:

(i) Date of each appraisal assignment.

(ii) Property address.

(iii) Property type.

(iv) Description of work performed by the applicant.

(v) Scope of the review and supervision of applicant's supervising appraiser.

(vi) A clear indication of the time devoted to each appraisal.

(b) The information in the log shall be capable of being documented by work samples,
and shall include an affidavit of a supervisor, if requested by the department. If a
supervisor is not available, if the applicant was the supervisor, or if the applicant was
self-employed, then the department may require an affidavit from a professional
colleague or from an institution for whom the work was performed to support the
documentation of the applicant.

Page 4
Courtesy of www.michigan.gov/orr



(2) An affidavit referenced in subrule (1)(b) of this rule may be utilized only for the
purpose of documenting the reasons for appraisal experience to exceed more than 40
hours per week, under R 339.23201(2).

(3) An applicant for a license shall demonstrate experience gained in each of the
following areas of the appraisal process:

(a) Defining the appraisal problem.

(b) Gathering and analyzing data.

(c) Applying appropriate value approaches and methodology.

(d) Arriving at an opinion of value.

(e) Reporting the opinion of value.

(4) Documents that support the information that is contained in an application, an
applicant's experience log, or an affidavit as required in R 339.23201(2) shall be
maintained for not less than 6 years from the date of application.

History: 1996 AACS; 2002 AACS; 2007 AACS; 2010 AACS.

R 339.23205 Prior licensing or exemptions; Michigan experience.

Rule 205. As required in the act, experience shall be valid only if an individual was
properly licensed or exempt from licensure. In Michigan, to be properly licensed before
January 1, 1992, an individual shall have held a real estate license in this state. Under
the standards applicable to the licensing of appraisal services in Michigan before
January 1, 1992, the following positions were considered exempt from real estate
licensing:

(@ An employee of a financial institution whose services as an appraiser were
performed for the financial institution and not offered to the public.

(b) An employee of an appraisal firm who performed appraisal tasks but did not sign
reports.

(c) An employee of a firm whose appraisals were performed for the internal use of the
firm and only on property owned or to be purchased by the firm for its own use.

(d) A governmental employee who appraised property for government use or purchase
or whose appraisal was required for the operation of a governmental program.

History: 1996 AACS.

R 339.23207 Market analysis by real estate licensees; acceptable experience.

Rule 207. Market analysis as performed by a real estate licensee may be included in
the experience required in R 339.23203, if both of the following conditions are met:

(@) The applicant provides proof that he or she was properly licensed as a real estate
broker, associate broker, or salesperson when the real estate market analysis was
performed.

(b) The analysis is prepared in conformity with standards 1 and 2 of USPAP, and
the individual can demonstrate that he or she is using similar techniques as appraisers
to value properties and effectively utilizes the appraisal process.

History: 1996 AACS; 2002 AACS.
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PART 3. APPRAISER EDUCATION

R 339.23301 Definitions.

Rule 301. As used in this part:

(a) "Continuing education course” means a course that complies with the AQB criteria
for continuing education courses and is approved by the department.

(b) "Coordinator” means an individual who assumes, on behalf of a course sponsor,
the responsibility pursuant to these rules for offering courses relating to the activities
of real estate appraisers.

(c) "Instructor” means an individual who is deemed qualified by the sponsor to instruct
students in prelicensure or continuing education courses and who provides instruction
directly and interactively in contact with students. An instructor may utilize guest
speakers, but shall bear ultimate responsibility to the sponsor for the quality of
information imparted to students.

(d) "Prelicensure course™ means a course that complies with the AQB criteria for
prelicensure education courses and is approved by the department.

(e) "Sponsor" means an entity which meets the requirements of section 2617(2) of
the act and which offers or proposes to offer either prelicensure appraiser education or
continuing education.

History: 1996 AACS; 2002 AACS; 2007 AACS.

R 339.23303 Education; submission of documentation by license applicants.

Rule 303. (1) In submitting documentation of prelicensure education obtained
before the effective date of the act or from course sponsors that are not approved
pursuant to these rules, the applicant shall show that the course was designed to teach
individuals to perform appraisals or to augment a basic knowledge of appraisal with
general information that the instructor then relates to the performance of appraisals.

(2) General educational courses, such as business, economics, statistics, or law, or
general courses in real estate or real estate law will not be considered equivalent to
approved prelicensure education unless a relationship to appraisal is shown in the
course description, syllabus, or curriculum outline to the extent that not fewer than 15
classroom hours were specifically related to appraisal. Classroom hours of credit shall
only be granted for hours that are specifically related to appraisal.

(3) An applicant's submission of documentation of prelicensure education shall
include all of the following information:

(a) The date and place the course was taken.

(b) The name of the sponsor and the sponsor's current address or and telephone
number if available.

(c) A copy of the course outline, syllabus, detailed curriculum, or similar information.

(d) A copy of the certificate of completion.

() The number of classroom hours spent in the course. To have the education
hours approved by the department, continuing education course sponsors utilizing
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distance-learning systems shall have an acceptable method of ensuring that the student
achieves an equivalent to classroom hours.

(4) In submitting documentation of education from institutions of higher education
that are authorized to grant degrees which confer credit hours rather than classroom
hours, 1 credit hour shall be equivalent to10 classroom hours of actual instruction for
term credits and 15 classroom hours of instruction for semester credits.

(5) Documentation to support information on the application for course approval
shall be maintained for not less than 6 years from the date of the application.

(6) To assist applicants, the department shall maintain a list of courses that are
acceptable to the department.

History: 1996 AACS; 2002 AACS; 2007 AACS.

R 339.23305 Rescinded.

History: 1996 AACS; Rescinded 2010 AACS.

R 339.23307 Conduct of courses; changes in courses.

Rule 307. (1) A course sponsor shall comply with all of the following requirements:

(@) A course shall not be represented to licensees or to the public as meeting the
requirements of the act and these rules until it has been approved by the department.

(b) Solicitation of organizational membership, employment, or business-related
products and services is prohibited during qualifying course classroom hours.

(c) A sponsor shall appoint an individual as coordinator for the sponsor's courses. The
coordinator shall be responsible for supervising the program of courses and assuring
compliance with the code and these rules. The coordinator need not be a licensee.

(d) An instructor who meets the requirements of R 339.23309 (3) and (4) shall teach
the course.

(e) Each student shall be provided with a written syllabus that contains, at a minimum,
all of the following information:

(i) The course title.

(if) The times and dates of the course offering.

(iii) The name, business address, and telephone number of the course coordinator
and the name of the instructor.

(iv) A detailed outline of the subject matter to be covered and the estimated time to
be devoted to each subject.

(F) A course shall not be credited for more than 10 classroom hours of instruction in
1 calendar day. Calculations of classroom hours for a course shall not include any of the
following:

(i) Meals.

(ii) Breaks.

(iii) Registration.

(iv) Required reading.

(v) Outside assignments.
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(g) Each course shall reflect the most current version of state and federal laws and
regulations.

(h) A sponsor shall permit the department to review a course at any time or to inspect
the records of a course sponsor during normal business hours.

(i) A sponsor whose programs are transferred to another entity shall arrange for
student records to be maintained permanently by the successor entity. The successor
entity shall assure that course completion information is available to students who need
to verify their education.

(2) The department shall accept or reject a change in, or addition to, the information
provided to the department on an original application. The department may
determine that a proposed change cannot be made without the submission of additional
supporting documentation or that the extent or number of changes requested require
the sponsor to complete a new application for approval.

(3) The department may request a sponsor to provide any additional supporting
documentation that is necessary for the department to approve the course.

(4) Department approved courses shall expire 3 years from the date of the course
approval, at which time the course approval shall be subject to renewal. A sponsor
shall notify the department of its intent to renew or discontinue previously approved
course or courses by satisfactorily completing and submitting a course renewal form
provided by the department. Course renewal forms shall be received by the department
at least 60 days before the expiration date. If a satisfactorily completed renewal form
is not received by the department by the expiration date, the course shall cease to be
departmentally approved beyond the expiration date. Course renewal forms are not
valid and shall not be accepted by the department after the expiration date. Sponsors
requesting approval for course renewal after the expiration date shall complete and
submit an application for original course approval.

(5) A proprietary real estate appraiser sponsor licensed under 1943 PA 148 shall
continuously comply with the act.

(6) If a sponsor desires to change a course's content/curriculum and/or hours of credit,
the sponsor shall reapply for departmental approval of the changes to the course by
completing an application for course approval, obtained from the department. The
department shall notify the sponsor whether the proposed course change is approved or
not. The sponsor shall not offer the course with the proposed changes without
departmental approval.

History: 1996 AACS; 2002 AACS; 2006 AACS; 2007 AACS.

R 339.23309 Sponsors; duties; instructors.

Rule 309. (1) Each sponsor shall be responsible for all of the following:

(a) Compliance with all laws and rules relating to appraiser education.

(b) Providing students with current and accurate information.

(c) Maintaining an atmosphere that is conducive to learning in the classroom.

(d) Assuring and certifying the attendance of students who are enrolled in courses.

(e) Providing assistance to students and responding to questions relating to course
materials.
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(F) Supervising all guest lecturers and relating all information that is presented to the
practice of real estate appraisal.

(2) Distance education sponsors shall ensure that all of the following qualifications
for their courses are complied with:

(a) The course shall be presented with an instructor available to answer questions,
provide information, and monitor student attendance.

(b) The course meets 1 of the following criteria:

(i) The course has been presented by an accredited college or university (through the
commission on colleges or a regional accreditation association) that offers distance
education programs in other disciplines.

(i) The course has received approval of the international distance education
certification center (IDECC) for the course design and delivery mechanism and either
of the following:

(A) The approval of the appraiser qualification board through the AQB course
approval program.

(B) The approval of the licensing or certifying jurisdiction where the
course is being offered for the content of the course.

(C) The course meets all of the following requirements:

(i) The course is equivalent to 15 classroom hours for prelicensure courses and 2
classroom hours for continuing education courses.

(if) A student successfully completes a written examination proctored by an official
approved by the presenting college or university or by the sponsoring organization
consistent with the requirements of the course accreditation. If a written examination
is not required for accreditation, a student successfully completes course mechanisms
required for accreditation which demonstrate mastery and fluency.

(iii) The sponsor ensures that students completing the distance education courses will
achieve the equivalent of the stated classroom hours per course.

(3) A sponsor shall select as instructors only individuals who can demonstrate
mastery of the material being taught and who possess 1 of the following qualifications:

(a) Experience as a faculty member of an institution of higher education
that is authorized to grant degrees.

(b) A state licensed, certified residential, or certified general appraiser with 3 years of
appraisal experience.

(c) Other experience acceptable to the sponsor for courses other than prelicensure
courses.

(4) Instructors of the USPAP shall have complied with the AQB instructor
certification program as required by the real property appraiser qualification
criteria.

History: 1996 AACS; 2002 AACS; 2004 AACS; 2007 AACS.

R 339.23311 Courses not acceptable for prelicensure or continuing education.

Rule 311. The department shall not approve a prelicensure or continuing education
course, nor shall it grant credit to a licensee for the USPAP course for any of the
following:

(a) Courses that do not provide student access to an instructor during the course.
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(b) Courses that deal with employment-related topics such as explanations of rights,
benefits, and responsibilities; organizational structure; and on-the-job methods,
processes, or procedures.

(c) Membership in or service in an office, or on a committee of a professional,
occupational, trade, or industry society or organization.

(d) Conferences, delegate assemblies, or similar meetings of professional organizations
for policy-making purposes.

(e) Meetings and conventions of societies and associations; however, educational
activities which are provided independently by an approved course sponsor and which are
held concurrently with such meetings may be given credit.

() Attendance at lecture series, cultural performances, entertainment, or recreational
meetings or activities or participation in travel groups, unless these activities are an
integral part of a course that is approved pursuant to these rules.

(9) On-the-job training, apprenticeships, and other work experiences.

(h) Courses in sales promotion, motivation, marketing, psychology, time
management, or mechanical office or business skills, including typing, speed-
reading, or the use of office machines or equipment other than calculators or
computers.

History: 1996 AACS; 2002 AACS; 2006 AACS; 2007 AACS.

R 339.23313 Misleading information.

Rule 313. A person, including a sponsor, shall not provide misleading information
about courses or any component of a course. Information is misleading when, taken
as a whole, there is a probability that it will deceive the class of persons that it is
intended to influence. A sponsor shall not represent that the department's approval
of a course is a recommendation or endorsement of the sponsor or the content of the
Sponsor's Courses.

History: 1996 AACS.

R 339.23315 Denial, suspension, or rescission of approval to offer courses; violation
of code or rules.

Rule 315. A real estate sponsor or instructor may be subject to the penalties of
section 602 of the code, including disciplinary action against a course approval, for any
of the following reasons:

(@) Failure to comply with the provisions of the code or these rules.

(b) Having a high rate of failure on a licensing examination as a result of a lack of
competent instruction.

(c) Making a substantial misrepresentation regarding an appraisal education sponsor or
course of study.

(d) Making a false promise of a character likely to influence, persuade, or induce
regarding an appraiser education sponsor or course of study.

(e) Pursuing a continued and flagrant course of misrepresentation or the making of
false promises through agents, salespersons, advertising or otherwise.
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History: 1996 AACS; 2007 AACS.

PART 3A. PRELICENSURE EDUCATION

R 339.23316 Prelicensure Education

Rule 316. Prelicensure education courses may be used to obtain credit for both
prelicensure education and continuing education. However, the prelicensure exam
shall not be used toward continuing education approved hours.

History: 2007 AACS.

R 339.23317 Prelicensure education; application for course approval; forms;
requirements; unacceptable courses.

Rule 317. (1) An application for approval of a prelicensure real estate appraiser
education course shall be made on forms provided by the department. The department
shall accept or reject the application.

(2) The application shall include all of the following information:

(@) The course title.

(b) The number of classroom hours to be given for completion of the course.

(c) The name, business address, and telephone number of the sponsor.

(d) The name, business address, and telephone number of the course coordinator.

(e) The name, license number, and qualifications of instructors.

(f) A detailed outline of the subject matter to be covered and the number of classroom
hours to be devoted to each topic, as it will appear in the student syllabus.

(9) A summary of the required topics for prelicensure that are covered in the course
completed on the subject matter matrix provided by the department.

(h) The methodology for verifying and monitoring attendance, including the class
makeup policy. A sponsor shall have a written makeup policy for students who are
absent from all or a part of regularly scheduled class sessions. If there are no
opportunities to make up missed sessions, that policy shall be so stated.

(i) The standards a student must meet to complete the course, including assignments,
projects, examinations, and the passing score on the examination that is required to be
given at the completion of the course for a student to demonstrate mastery of the material
covered.

(j) Proof that the sponsor is an entity that may offer prelicensure real estate appraisal
education courses in accordance with the provisions of section 2617(2) of the act.

History: 1996 AACS; 2002 AACS; 2006 AACS; 2007 AACS.

R 339.23319 Prelicensure education; student records; permanent record; course
completion certificate.

Rule 319. (1) A course sponsor shall establish and permanently maintain a record for
each student. The record shall contain all of the following information:
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(a) The student's name and address.

(b) The student's date of birth.

(c) The number of classroom hours attended.

(d) The title of the course and the department’s course completion number.

(e) The date of course completion.

() The student's grade.

(9) The student's real estate appraiser license number, if applicable.

(2) A course sponsor shall issue a certificate of completion to a student or licensee who
completes the entire course and receives a passing grade in a prelicensure education
course. The certificate shall include all of the following information:

(a) The name of the student.

(b) The name of the sponsor.

(c) The name of the course attended.

(d) The number of classroom hours completed by the student.

(e) The date of course completion.

(F) The signature of the course coordinator or instructor.

(9) The sponsor number assigned by the department.

(h) The course approval number assigned by the department.

(3) Within 15 business days after the conclusion of a course, a sponsor shall certify to
the department the names of students who complete an approved course in a manner
approved by the department.

History: 1996 AACS; 2002 AACS; 2007 AACS.

R 339.23320  Prelicensure requirements for uniform standards of professional
appraisal practice (USPAP).

Rule 320. (1) Applicants for licensure shall successfully complete the 15-hour
national USPAP course required by the appraiser qualification board (AQB).
Equivalency shall be determined through the AQB course approval program or by an
alternate method established by the AQB.

(2) USPAP qualifying education credit shall only be awarded when the class is
instructed by at least 1 instructor who is an AQB certified instructor and who is a
certified residential real estate appraiser or a certified general real estate appraiser.

History: 2006 AACS; 2007 AACS; 2010 AACS.

PART 3B. CONTINUING EDUCATION

R 339.23321 Continuing education; application for course approval; forms;
requirements.

Rule 321. (1) An application for approval of a continuing education course shall be
made on forms provided by the department. The department shall accept or reject the
application.
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(2) The application shall include, but not be limited to, all of the following
information:

(a) The course title.

(b) The number of classroom hours to be given for completion of the course.

(c) The name, business address, and telephone number of the sponsor.

(d) The name, business address, and telephone number of the course coordinator.

(e) The name, license number, and qualifications of instructors.

() A detailed outline of the subject matter to be covered and the number of classroom
hours to be devoted to each topic, as it will appear in the student syllabus.

(9) The methodology for verifying and monitoring attendance. A student shall attend
the entire course in order to obtain credit for the course. Credit for a distance learning
course requires completion of the entire course. A licensee shall not receive credit for
attending the same course more than 1 time during the same license renewal cycle.

(h) The standards a student must meet to complete the course, including assignments,
projects, or examinations. The sponsor at its discretion may give course examinations,
but examinations are not required by the act or these rules for continuing education
courses.

(i) Proof that the sponsor is an entity that may offer continuing education courses in
accordance with the provisions of section 2617(2) of the act.

(J) Information to demonstrate that the course meets the requirements of the AQB
criteria and is designed to improve and maintain the capability of a licensee to perform
activities regulated by the act.

History: 1996 AACS; 2002 AACS; 2006 AACS; 2007 AACS.

R 339.23323 Continuing education; student records; permanent record; course
completion certificate.

Rule 323. (1) A course sponsor shall establish and permanently maintain a record for
each student. The record shall contain all of the following information:

() The student's name, address, and license number.

(b) The number of classroom hours attended.

(c) The title of the course and the date of course completion.

(2) A course sponsor shall issue a certificate of completion to a licensee who
successfully completes a continuing education  course.  The certificate shall include
all of the following information:

(@) The name of the student.

(b) The student's license number.

(c) The name of the sponsor.

(d) The name of the course attended.

(e) The number of classroom hours completed by the student.

() The date of course completion.

(9) The signature of the course coordinator or instructor.

(3) Within 15 business days after a course ends, a sponsor shall  certify to the
department the names of students who complete an approved course by a method or on
forms approved by the department.
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History: 1996 AACS; 2002 AACS.

R 339.23325 Continuing education; course credit for instructors.

Rule 325. Real estate appraisers who are also instructors may earn up to one half of
their required real estate appraiser continuing education credit per license cycle by
teaching an approved real estate appraiser course. Credit shall be granted to an
instructor once in a licensing cycle for the
same course either as a student or as an instructor.

History: 1996 AACS; 2010 AACS.

R 339.23326 Continuing education requirements for licensees.

Rule 326. (1) Appraisers shall successfully complete the 7-hour national USPAP
update course, or its equivalent, at least every 2 years. Equivalency shall be determined
through the AQB course approval program or by an alternate method established by
the AQB.

(2) USPAP qualifying education credit shall only be awarded when the class is
instructed by at least 1 instructor who is an AQB certified instructor and who is a
certified residential real estate appraiser or a certified general real estate appraiser.

(3) Every 2 years, appraisers shall successfully complete at least 2 hours of continuing
education devoted to Michigan appraiser license law and rules.

History: 2002 AACS; 2006 AACS; 2007 AACS; 2010 AACS.

R 339.23327 Rescinded.

History: 1996 AACS; rescinded 2010 AACS.

PART 4. STANDARDS OF CONDUCT

R 339.23401 Licensee relationship to others participating in preparation of
appraisals.

Rule 401. A state licensed or certified residential or certified general real estate
appraiser shall not sign an appraisal report for a federally related transaction unless
that licensee has performed the appraisal in accordance with uniform standards of
professional appraisal practice and is properly licensed to perform the assignment. The
material participation of any other individual in preparing the report shall be
acknowledged in the report as required by the uniform standards of professional
appraisal practice regardless of the licensure status of the other individual. The
signature of a state-licensed, a certified residential, or a certified general
appraiser as a supervisory or co-signing appraiser shall not be used to mask the
preparation of a report by an individual who is not authorized to sign the report.
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History: 1996 AACS; 2002 AACS; 2006 AACS.

R 339.23403 Limited real estate appraiser; state licensed real estate appraiser;
certified residential real estate appraiser; certified general real estate appraiser;
authorized functions.

Rule 403. (1) If a limited real estate appraiser is properly qualified to undertake an
assignment, a limited real estate appraiser may perform either of the following appraisal
services, if the report is signed by a supervisory certified residential or certified general
real estate appraiser, who by virtue of signing the report, assumes full responsibility for
the accuracy of the report content and conclusions:

(a) Appraise properties that are not federally related transactions or real estate related
financial transactions.

(b) Assist a state-licensed, certified residential, or certified general real estate
appraiser in the development of an appraisal for a federally related transaction or a
real estate related financial transaction. The limited real estate appraiser shall not sign
the report; however, the state licensed, certified residential, or certified general real
estate appraiser shall acknowledge the specific contributions of the limited real estate
appraiser within the appraisal report.

(2) If a state licensed real estate appraiser is properly qualified to undertake an
assignment, a state-licensed real estate appraiser may perform any of the following
appraisal services:

(a) Appraise properties that are not federally related transactions.

(b) Appraise 1 to 4-family residential properties, unless the transaction value is
$1,000,000.00 or more or the property is deemed to be complex and therefore required
to be appraised by a certified residential or certified general real estate appraiser.

(c) Appraise nonresidential properties for federally related transactions and real estate
related financial transactions where the transaction value is less than $250,000.00.

(d) Assist a certified residential or certified general real estate appraiser in the
development of an appraisal of a complex residential property or a nonresidential
property that is the subject of a federally related transaction, as appropriate. The
state licensed real estate appraiser shall not sign the report; however, the certified
residential or certified general real estate appraiser shall acknowledge the specific
contributions of the state-licensed real estate appraiser within the appraisal report.

(3) A certified residential real estate appraiser, if properly qualified to undertake an
assignment, may perform any of the following appraisal assignments:

(a) Appraise properties that are not federally related transactions.

(b) Appraise 1 to 4-family residential properties without regard to complexity or
value.

(c) Appraise nonresidential properties for federally related transactions and real estate
related financial transactions where the transaction value is less than $250,000.00.

(d) Assist a certified general real estate appraiser in the development of an appraisal of
a nonresidential property that is the subject of a federally related transaction, as
appropriate. The certified residential real estate appraiser shall not sign the report.
However, the certified general real estate appraiser shall identify the specific
contributions of the certified residential real estate appraiser within the appraisal
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report.

reports according to the following chart:

(4) The licensee authorized to sign the report shall identify all participating

licensees and their contributions to the report. Signatures are required on appraisal

Signatures Non- Federally Federally Federally Federally
Required: Federally Related Related Related Related
Related Transactions || Transactions || Transactions || Transactions
By License | Transactions || 1-4 Family 1-4 Family || Nonresiden- || Nonresiden-
Level And || & Non-Real Properties Properties tial tial More
Estate- Less Than More Than Properties Than
Transaction Related $1 Million $1 Million Less Than || $250,000 In
Categories Financial In Or Complex || $250,000 In || Transaction
Transactions || Transaction Properties Transaction Value
Value More Than Value
$250,000 In
Transaction
Value
Limited YES NO NO NO NO
Appraiser
State-
Licensed YES YES NO YES NO
Appraiser
Certified
Residential YES YES YES YES NO
Appraiser
Certified
General YES YES YES YES YES
Appraiser

History: 1996 AACS; 2002 AACS; 2006 AACS; 2007 AACS.

R 339.23405 Advertising.

Rule 405. (1) A licensee shall state the level of license held in all advertising.
Merely stating that the person is licensed does not satisfy the provisions of this subrule.
However, a directory listing or similar situation where space is limited, it shall be

sufficient disclosure for a licensee to use the words certified general,
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residential, state-licensed, or limited appraiser, as appropriate, without additional
wording.

(2) A licensee shall place his or her license number and license level on all reports and
shall produce evidence of licensing upon request by a member of the public or a
representative of the department. A license number shall not be required in advertising
material.

History: 1996 AACS; 2002 AACS; 2006 AACS.
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