
DEPARTMENT OF STATE 
 

BUREAU OF LEGAL SERVICES 
 

PROCEDURE FOR CONDUCTING HEARINGS 
 
 
(By authority of Act No. 197 of the Public Acts of 1952, as amended, being S24.101 et seq. of the 
Michigan Compiled Laws) 
 
 
R  11.1   Definitions. 
  Rule 1. The term "secretary of state" as used in these   rules   shall  be deemed to mean: 
  (a) The secretary of state or the deputy secretary of state. 
  (b) Any employee  of  the  department  of  state  charged   by  law  with conducting hearings. 
  (c) Any employee of the department of state authorized by the secretary of state to conduct any hearing or 
hearings. 
 
  History:  1979 AC. 
 
 
R  11.2   Notice of hearing. 
Rule 2. Notification of any hearing before the secretary of  state  will be by registered mail, and  will   state   
the   date,   time,   place,   issues involved and reasons for holding said hearing. Such notice will be mailed 
at least 10 days prior to said  hearing.  Unless   indicated   otherwise,   all hearings will be held in the office 
of the secretary   of   state,   State Capitol, Lansing, Michigan. 
 
  History:  1979 AC. 
 
 
R  11.3   Appearance. 
Rule 3. When an appearance is made at a hearing, it shall be made either in person or by a duly authorized 
representative, or by counsel. 
 
  History:  1979 AC. 
 
 
R  11.4   Answer; oral statement on charges; written briefs or  arguments. 
Rule 4. The person or persons who have been  served  with   a   notice   of hearing may, at his option, file a 
written answer  thereto   prior   to   the date set for hearing, or at said hearing may appear and   present   an   
oral statement on the charges contained in the notice of  hearing.  When   written briefs or arguments are  
presented,  a  copy  shall  be   served   upon   the secretary of state and opposite parties at least 5 days prior  
to  the   date set for the hearing. 
 
  History:  1979 AC. 
 
 
R  11.5   Failure to appear at hearing. 
Rule 5. If the person or persons who have been previously  served  with   a notice of hearing fail to appear 
at a noticed hearing,   the   secretary   of state may proceed with a hearing of the cases brought before him 
and  may, on the evidence presented, make his decision. 
 
  History:  1979 AC. 
 
 
R  11.6   Statement of facts. 



Rule 6. Any person who requests a hearing, shall  submit  in  writing   a full and accurate statement of facts 
upon which his request is  made  to  the secretary of state and to all interested parties  and   such   statement   
of facts shall be accepted in evidence. 
 
  History:  1979 AC. 
 
 
R  11.7   Adjournment or continuance of hearing. 
Rule 7. No hearing shall be adjourned or continued, except  upon  order  of the secretary of state or his 
agent conducting the   hearing.   All   motions and requests for an adjournment, or continuance, shall be 
accompanied by a statement of the reasons therefor. No motion or request for an adjournment or 
continuance will be considered unless same is filed with  the   secretary  of state at least 5 days prior to   the   
date   assigned   for  the   hearing, except that the secretary of state or his agent may   accept   such   request 
during a hearing or may waive the 5-day notification if  proper  showing   is made that for reasons not 
within the control  of  the   person   or   parties making the motion or request, the motion or request  could   
not   be   filed within such time limit. 
 
  History:  1979 AC. 
 
 
R  11.8   Stipulations. 
Rule 8. The parties to any hearing before the secretary of  state,  may, by stipulation in writing, filed with 
the secretary of state,  agree   upon  the facts or any portion of  the  facts  involved  in  the   controversy,   
which stipulation shall be regarded and used as evidence on  the  hearing.  Parties are requested to thus 
agree upon the facts whenever practicable. 
 
  History:  1979 AC. 
 
 
R  11.9   Depositions. 
Rule 9. Depositions shall only be taken upon written   authority   of   the secretary of state when it appears 
to the secretary of state   that   it   is impractical  or  impossible  to  otherwise  obtain   the   evidence.    
Where depositions are permitted, they shall be taken according to  the  rules   for taking depositions in civil 
cases in the state of  Michigan,  being  Michigan Statutes Annotated, Section 27.854, et seq., with  all   
parties   given   an opportunity to cross-examine the witness under oath.  
 
  History:  1979 AC. 
 
 


