DEPARTMENT OF MILITARY AFFAIRS

VETERANS' TRUST FUND BOARD OF TRUSTEES

STUDENT LOANS

(By authority conferred on the veterans' trust fund board of trustees by section 1 of Act No. 9 of the Public Acts of the First Extra Session of 1946, as amended, being S35.601 of the Michigan Compiled Laws)

R 35.631 Eligibility.

Rule 1. (1) An applicant for a loan shall be a Michigan veteran as defined in Act No. 9 of the Public Acts of the First Extra Session of 1946, as amended, being SS35.601 to 35.610 of the Michigan Compiled Laws, or his legal dependent or the child of a deceased veteran.

(2) An applicant shall currently be enrolled in school on a full-time basis at a Michigan institution of higher education.

(3) An applicant enrolled in on-the-job training is not eligible for a loan.

(4) An applicant shall show a basis of need of the loan.

History: 1979 AC.

R 35.632 Applications and approval.

Rule 2. (1) An applicant shall execute a 180-day non-interest bearing note payable to the state of Michigan - Michigan veterans' trust fund. The note shall be co-signed if the applicant is under 21 years of age.

(2) An application for a loan shall be initially approved by the school authority or its designated agent. Final approval of a loan shall be made by the executive secretary of the veterans' trust fund board of trustees or his designated agent. An applicant shall be notified of the approval or disapproval of his loan.

History: 1979 AC.

R 35.633 Dollar limits.

Rule 3. A loan will not be granted in an amount exceeding \$600.00.Amounts repaid by the applicant may be later reloaned to him but his total indebtedness at any time shall not exceed \$600.00.

History: 1979 AC.

R 35.634 Satisfaction of loans.

Rule 4. (1) A loan may be repaid on a partial payment plan when specifically provided for and approved by the executive secretary of the veterans' trust fund board of trustees or his designated agent. (2) A note may be renewed or extended by such executive secretary or his designated agent.

(3) When a borrower enters the military or peace corps service directly from school, the balance due on his outstanding loan shall become payable 6 months after his separation from such service.

(4) A loan may be canceled in case of the borrower's death, total and permanent disability, or a satisfactory showing of extreme hardship as determined by such executive secretary or his designated agent.

History: 1979 AC.

R 35.639 Rescission.

Rule 9. Rules 1 to 12, governing student subsistence loans, being R 35.601 to R 35.612 of the Michigan Administrative Code and appearing on pages 501 and 502 of the 1954 volume of the Code, are rescinded.

History: 1979 AC.