## DEPARTMENT OF AGRICULTURE

## ANIMAL INDUSTRY DIVISION

## **REGULATION NO. 147. STARTED PULLETS**

(By authority conferred on the department of agriculture by Act No. 213 of the Public Acts of 1962, being S287.171 et seq. of the Michigan Compiled Laws)

R 285.147.1 Started pullets.

Rule 1. (1) In accordance with provisions of Act No. 213 of the Public Acts of 1962, persons offering started pullets for sale may request the director to certify as to age, condition, and state of health of started pullets.

(2) Qualifications for certification shall consist of:

(a) Certification shall be accomplished by an inspection of the pullets, within 10 days of sale or movement, on the premises where raised by a veterinarian or his alternate veterinarian designated by the applicant, both veterinarians having been approved by the director of agriculture.

(b) The inspection shall include an observation of the environment to determine that the pullets have been raised under good husbandry practices.

(c) The inspector shall be satisfied that the pullets are of the age, growth, and condition as represented. The inspector shall be furnished records showing hatching date, health, and vaccination history of the pullets to be certified.

(d) The pullets must be in good physical health. If the inspector deems it necessary, he may submit birds to a laboratory for examination prior to certifying as to the health of the pullets.

(e) A certificate of certification as to the age, condition, and health of the pullets shall be issued on behalf of the director of agriculture by the inspecting veterinarian when he shall be satisfied that the birds are as represented as to age and condition and are clinically healthy on forms furnished by the state department of agriculture.

(f) The cost of the professional services for inspections and certifications of started pullets shall be paid by the applicant.

(g) The inspecting veterinarian shall forward a copy of the certificate of certification to the livestock disease control division of the Michigan department of agriculture, Lansing, Michigan, within 5 days following the certification.

History: 1979 AC.