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HEARING DECISION 
 

Following Petitioner’s request for a hearing, this matter is before the undersigned 
Administrative Law Judge pursuant to MCL 400.9 and 400.37; 7 CFR 273.15 to 273.18; 
42 CFR 431.200 to 431.250; 42 CFR 438.400 to 438.424; 45 CFR 99.1 to 99.33; and 45 
CFR 205.10; and Mich Admin Code, R 792.11002.  After due notice, a telephone 
hearing was held on July 1, 2021, from Lansing, Michigan.  Petitioner  is in 
Long Term Care. The Petitioner was represented by her son and Authorized Hearings 
Representative .  The Department of Health and Human Services 
(Department or Respondent) was represented by Lori Aumick, Hearings Facilitator and 
Roianne Brown, Long Term Care Specialist. 
 
Petitioner’s Exhibit 1-18 (pages 1-50) were admitted as evidence. 
 

ISSUE 
 

Did the Department properly determine that Petitioner had divestment and a penalty? 
 

FINDINGS OF FACT 
 

The Administrative Law Judge, based on the competent, material, and substantial 
evidence on the whole record, finds as material fact: 
 
1. Petitioner was enrolled in the MI Choice Waiver Program. 

2. On July 10, 2020, the Department received a Facility Discharge notice indicating 
that Petitioner was disenrolled from the MI Choice Waiver Program. 

3. On August 31, 2020, the Department received a facility admission notice indicating 
that Petitioner was admitted on July 7, 2020, to Regency at Grand Blanc LTC 
Facility and is expected to be there more than 30 days, not expected to return 
home. 
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4. On January 19, 2021, the Department updated COVID-19 Medical Assistance 
(MA) Medicare Savings Program (MSP). 

5. On March 2, 2021, the Department received a facility admission and a facility 
discharge notice indicating that Petitioner was enrolled in hospice in a skilled 
nursing facility September 1, 2020, at  

6. On March 5, 2021, the Department sent Petitioner a DHS-3503 Verification 
Checklist requesting proof of income and current bank account information due on 
March 18, 2021. 

7. On April 1, 2021, the  Care caseworker called Social Security to obtain 
Social Security income information as verification information had not been 
returned. The case was not closed for failure to verify as per ESA memo 2020-12 
MA and MSP are not to be terminated nor reduced due to the COVID 19 
Pandemic. 

8. On  2021, the Department received Petitioner’s  bank statement dated 
 2020 through  2021 and the Social Security Award letter. 

9. On April 20, 2021, the Department received information indicating that Petitioner’s 
son charged Petitioner for January and February 2021 while she was residing in 
the nursing home. 

10. On May 4, 2021, the Department determined that  in funds that were 
transferred to Petitioner’s son’s bank account from December 31, 2020, to  
March 10, 2021, were divestment.  

11. On May 4, 2021, a divestment penalty of 17 days was applied to the case and a 
DHS-0176 Benefit Notice was sent to Petitioner and Petitioner’s son informing of 
the divestment penalty period from June 1, 2021-June 17, 2021, in which Medicaid 
will not pay for Petitioner’s room and board at the facility. 

12. The baseline date is April 25, 2013, when Petitioner was originally enrolled as a MI 
Choice Waiver Participant. 

13. On May 12, 2021, Petitioner’s son filed a Request for Hearing to contest the 
Department’s negative action. 

14. May 14, 2021, the Michigan Office of Administrative Hearings and Rules received 
a Hearing Summary and attached documents. 

15. On May 19, 2021, a prehearing conference was held, and the issue was not 
resolved. 
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CONCLUSIONS OF LAW 
 

The regulations governing the hearing and appeal process for applicants and recipients 
of public assistance in Michigan are found in the Michigan Administrative Code, MAC R 
400.901-400.951.  An opportunity for a hearing shall be granted to an applicant who 
requests a hearing because his or her claim for assistance has been denied.  MAC R 
400.903(1).  Clients have the right to contest a department decision affecting eligibility 
or benefit levels whenever it is believed that the decision is incorrect.  The department 
will provide an administrative hearing to review the decision and determine the 
appropriateness of that decision.  BAM 600. 
 
Department policies are contained in the Department of Health and Human Services 
Bridges Administrative Manual (BAM), Department of Health and Human Services 
Bridges Eligibility Manual (BEM), Department of Health and Human Services Reference 
Tables Manual (RFT), and Department of Health and Human Services Emergency 
Relief Manual (ERM).   
 
The Medical Assistance (MA) program is established by Title XIX of the Social Security 
Act, 42 USC 1396-1396w-5; 42 USC 1315; the Affordable Care Act of 2010, the 
collective term for the Patient Protection and Affordable Care Act, Pub. L. No. 111-148, 
as amended by the Health Care and Education Reconciliation Act of 2010, Pub. L. No. 
111-152; and 42 CFR 430.10-.25.  The Department (formerly known as the Department 
of Human Services) administers the MA program pursuant to 42 CFR 435, MCL 400.10, 
and MCL 400.105-.112k.   
 
Title XIX of the Social Security Act, commonly referred to as “The Medicaid Act,” 
provides for medical assistance services to individuals who lack the financial means 
to obtain needed health care. 42 U.S.C. §1396. (Emphasis added) 
 
The Medicaid program is administered by the federal government through the Centers 
for Medicaid and Medicare Services (CMS) of the Department of Health and Human 
Services (HHS). The state and federal governments share financial responsibility for 
Medicaid services. Each state may choose whether or not to participate in the Medicaid 
program. Once a state chooses to participate, it must operate its Medicaid program in 
accordance with mandatory federal requirements, imposed both by the Medicaid Act 
and by implementing federal regulations authorized under the Medicaid Act and 
promulgated by HHS. 
 
Pertinent Department policy states: 
 

Assets must be considered in determining eligibility or SSI related categories. 
Assets mean cash, any other personal property and real property. (BEM, Item 
400 Page 1). Countable assets cannot exceed the applicable asset limit. Not all 
assets are counted. Some assets are counted for one program but not for 
another program. (BEM Item 400, Page 1).  
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The department is to consider both of the following to determine whether and 
how much of an asset is countable: An asset is countable if it meets the 
availability test and is not excluded. The department is to consider the assets of 
each person in the asset group. (BEM, Item 400, Page 1).  

 
Asset eligibility exists when the asset groups countable assets are less than or 
equal to the applicable asset limit at least one day during the month being tested. 
(BEM, Item 400, Page 4). An application does not authorize MA for future months 
if the person has excess assets on the processing date.  

 
The SSI related MA asset limit for SSI related MA categories that are not 
Medicare savings program or QDWI is $2000.00 for an asset group for one 
person and $3000.00 for an asset group of 2 people. BEM, Item 400 Page 5. 

 
An asset must be available to be counted. Available means that someone in the 
asset group has the legal right to use or dispose of the asset. BEM, Item 400, 
Page 6. The department is to assume an asset is available unless the evidence 
shows that it is not available.  

 
BEM, Item 405, states: 

Divestment results in a penalty period in MA, not ineligibility. Divestment is a type of 
transfer of a resource and not an amount of resources transferred. 

Divestment means a transfer of a resource (see RESOURCE DEFINED below and 
in glossary) by a client or his spouse that are all of the following: 

 Is within a specified time; see LOOK-BACK PERIOD in this item. 

 Is a transfer for LESS THAN FAIR MARKET VALUE; 

 Is not listed below under TRANSFERS THAT ARE NOT DIVESTMENT 

See Annuity Not Actuarially Sound and Joint Owners and Transfers below and 
BEM 401 about special transactions considered transfers for less than fair market 
value. 

 During the penalty period, MA will not pay the client’s cost for: 

 LTC services. 
 Home and community-based services. 
 Home Help. 
 Home Health. BEM, Item 405, page 1 

Resource means all the client’s and his spouse's assets and income. It 
includes all assets and all income, even countable and/or excluded assets, the 
individual or spouse receive. It also includes all assets and income that the individual 
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(or their spouse) were entitled to but did not receive because of action by one of the 
following: 

 The client or spouse. 

 A person (including a court or administrative body) with legal authority to act 
in place of or on behalf of the client or the client’s spouse.  

 Any person (including a court or administrative body) acting at the direction or 
upon the request of the client or his spouse. BEM, Item 405, page 2 

Transferring a resource means giving up all or partial ownership in (or rights to) a 
resource. Not all transfers are divestment. Examples of transfers include: 

 Selling an asset for fair market value (not divestment). 

 Giving an asset away (divestment). 

 Refusing an inheritance (divestment). 

 Payments from a MEDICAID TRUST that are not to, or for the benefit of, the 
person or his spouse; see BEM 401 (divestment). 

 Putting assets or income in a trust; see BEM 401. 

 Giving up the right to receive income such as having pension payments 
made to someone else (divestment). 

 Giving away a lump sum or accumulated benefit (divestment). 

 Buying an annuity that is not actuarially sound (divestment). 

 Giving away a vehicle (divestment). 

 Putting assets or income into a Limited Liability Company (LLC)BEM, item 
405, page 2 

Department policy states that it is not divestment to transfer a homestead to the 
client's: 

 Spouse; see Transfers Involving Spouse above. 
 Blind or disabled child; see Transfers Involving Child above. 
 Child under age 21. 
 Child age 21 or over who: 

 Lived in the homestead for at least two years immediately before the client’s 
admission to LTC or BEM 106 waiver approval, and 
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 Provided care that would otherwise have required LTC or BEM 106 waiver 
services, as documented by a physician's  (M.D. or D.O.) statement. BEM 
Item 405, page 8. 

 Policy also states that the uncompensated value of a divested resource is 

 The resource's cash or equity value. 
 Minus any compensation received. 
 The uncompensated value of a promissory note, loan, or mortgage is the 

outstanding balance due on the “Baseline Date” BEM, Item 405, page 12. 

When divestment occurs, the department must invoke a penalty period. The 
transferred amount is used to calculate the penalty period. The Department may 
only recalculate the penalty period under certain circumstances. Pertinent policy 
dictates that the first step in determining the period of time that transfers can be 
looked at for divestment is determining the baseline date. Once the baseline date 
is established, you determine the look-back period. The look back period is 60 
months prior to the baseline date for all transfers made after February 8, 2006. 
BEM, Item 405, page 2-4. 

The penalty period starts on the date which the individual is eligible for Medicaid 
and would otherwise be receiving institutional level care (LTC, MIChoice waiver, 
or home help or home health services), and is not already part of a penalty 
period. When a medical provider is paid by the individual, or by a third party on 
behalf of the individual, for medical services received, the individual is not eligible 
for Medicaid in that month and the month is not a penalty month. That month 
cannot be counted as part of the penalty period. This does not include payments 
made by commercial insurance or Medicare. (Emphasis Added) 

 
This Administrative Law Judge finds that Department policy is explicit: the penalty 
period starts on the date which the individual is eligible for Medicaid and would 
otherwise be receiving institutional level care (LTC, MI Choice waiver, or home help or 
home health services), and is not already part of a penalty period. BEM 405.  
 
The department has established by the necessary competent, substantial and material 
evidence on the record that it was acting accordance with department policy when it 
instituted the divestment penalty from June 1-June 17, 2021. The Department’s decision 
must be reversed. 
 
 

DECISION AND ORDER 
 
The Administrative Law Judge, based on the above Findings of Fact and Conclusions of 
Law, and for the reasons stated on the record, if any, finds that the Department has 
established by a preponderance of the evidence contained on the record that the 
divestment penalty was not appropriately applied. The divestment period is appropriate. 
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Accordingly, the Department’s decision is AFFIRMED. 
 
 

 
  
LL/ml Landis Lain  
 Administrative Law Judge          
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NOTICE OF APPEAL:  A party may appeal this Order in circuit court within 30 days of 
the receipt date.  A copy of the circuit court appeal must be filed with the Michigan 
Office of Administrative Hearings and Rules (MOAHR).    
 
A party may request a rehearing or reconsideration of this Order if the request is 
received by MOAHR within 30 days of the date the Order was issued. The party 
requesting a rehearing or reconsideration must provide the specific reasons for the 
request.  MOAHR will not review any response to a request for 
rehearing/reconsideration.  
 
A written request may be mailed or faxed to MOAHR.  If submitted by fax, the written 
request must be faxed to (517) 763-0155; Attention:  MOAHR 
Rehearing/Reconsideration Request. 
 
If submitted by mail, the written request must be addressed as follows: 
 

Michigan Office of Administrative Hearings and Rules 
Reconsideration/Rehearing Request 

P.O. Box 30639 
Lansing, Michigan 48909-8139 

 
 
DHHS – via electronic mail  MDHHS-Genesee-Clio-Hearings 

BSC2 
C. George 
EQAD 
 

Authorized Hearing Rep. – via first class 
mail  

  
 

 MI  
 

Petitioner – via first class mail   
 

 
 MI  

 
 


