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HEARING DECISION 

Following Petitioner’s request for a hearing, this matter is before the undersigned 
Administrative Law Judge pursuant to MCL 400.9 and 400.37; 7 CFR 273.15 to 273.18; 
42 CFR 431.200 to 431.250; 42 CFR 438.400 to 438.424; 45 CFR 99.1 to 99.33; and 45 
CFR 205.10; and Mich Admin Code, R 792.11002.  After due notice, a telephone 
hearing was held on June 15, 2020, from Detroit, Michigan.  Petitioner was present and 
represented herself.  The Department of Health and Human Services (Department) was 
represented by Olivette Gordon, Family Independence Manager and Sharine Gillis-
Baytops, Eligibility Specialist.   

ISSUE 

Did the Department properly determine Petitioner’s Food Assistance Program (FAP) 
eligibility? 

FINDINGS OF FACT 

The Administrative Law Judge, based on the competent, material, and substantial 
evidence on the whole record, finds as material fact: 

1. Petitioner was an ongoing FAP recipient. 

2. Petitioner’s household consisted of herself and her three adult children. 

3. On March 30, 2020, the Department sent Petitioner a Notice of Case Action 
informing her that she was approved for FAP benefits for a group size of one 
effective March 1, 2020, ongoing. 

4. Petitioner submitted a request for hearing disputing the Department’s actions.  
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CONCLUSIONS OF LAW 

Department policies are contained in the Department of Health and Human Services 
Bridges Administrative Manual (BAM), Department of Health and Human Services 
Bridges Eligibility Manual (BEM), Department of Health and Human Services Reference 
Tables Manual (RFT), and Department of Health and Human Services Emergency 
Relief Manual (ERM).   

The Food Assistance Program (FAP) [formerly known as the Food Stamp program] is 
established by the Food and Nutrition Act of 2008, as amended, 7 USC 2011 to 2036a 
and is implemented by the federal regulations contained in 7 CFR 273.  The 
Department (formerly known as the Department of Human Services) administers FAP 
pursuant to MCL 400.10, the Social Welfare Act, MCL 400.1-.119b, and Mich Admin 
Code, R 400.3001-.3011. 

In this case, Petitioner was an ongoing FAP recipient. The Department testified that 
effective March 1, 2020, Petitioner’s FAP benefits were based on a group size of one. 
The Department stated that Petitioner had adult children living in her household. 
However, the adult children were determined to be ineligible as they were in student 
status, and they did not meet the Time Limited Food Assistance (TLFA) work 
requirements.  

Effective October 1, 2018, clients must meet specific TLFA work requirements as a 
condition of FAP eligibility. BEM 620 (November 2019), p. 1. All FAP individuals age 18 
through 49 are TLFA unless deferred. BEM 620, p. 1. Failure to do so limits the 
individual’s FAP eligibility to three months within a 36-month period. BEM 620, p. 1. 
TLFA individuals who meet all other FAP eligibility criteria are eligible for three 
countable months of FAP benefits during a 36-month period. BEM 620, p. 1. 

In order for a FAP benefit month to not be countable, a TLFA individual must perform 
one of the following: (i) work at least 80 hours monthly (20 hours/week on average); (ii) 
participate in Michigan Works! Agency (MWA) 80 hours monthly; (iii) work and 
participate in MWA combined for 80 hours monthly; (iv) participate in MWA-assigned 
Workfare with the number of hours worked at least equal to the FAP benefit divided by 
the $8.90 minimum wage; or (v) engage in self-initiated community service activities for 
a non-profit organization with the number of hours worked at least equal to the FAP 
benefit divided by the $8.90 minimum wage. BEM 620, pp. 1-3. 

To be deferred from TLFA policy an individual must be one of the following: (i) a 
member of a FAP group that includes a FAP group member under age 18; (ii) deferred 
from employment-related activities per BEM 230B; (iii) in any stage of pregnancy; or (iv) 
determined to be medically certified as physically or mentally unfit for employment. BEM 
620, pp. 1-2. A person enrolled in a post-secondary education program may be in 
student status as defined by BEM 245, and eligible for a deferral. BEM 230B (January 
2018), pp. 4-5. 
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A person is in student status if she is: age 18 through 49 and enrolled half-time or more 
in a: vocational, trade, business, or technical school that normally requires a high school 
diploma or an equivalency certificate, or a regular curriculum at a college or university 
that offers degree programs regardless of whether a diploma is required. BEM 245 
(January 2020), p. 3-4. In order for a person in student status to be eligible, they must 
meet one of the following criteria: (i) receiving FIP; (ii) enrolled in an institution of higher 
education as a result of participation in a Job Training Partnership Act (JTPA), a 
program under the Trade Readjustment Act or another state or local government 
employment and training program; (iii) physically or mentally unfit for employment; (iv) 
employed for at least an average of 20 hours per week and paid for such employment; 
(v) self-employed for at least an average of 20 hours per week and earning an average 
weekly income at least equivalent to the federal minimum wage multiplied by 20 hours; 
(vi) participating in a state of federally-funded work study program during the regular 
school year; (vii) providing more than half of the physical care of a group member under 
the age of six; (viii) providing more than half of the physical care of a group member age 
six through eleven and the local office has determined adequate child care is not 
available to enable the person to attend class and work at least 20 hours per week or 
participate in a state or federally-financed work study program during the school year; or 
(ix) a single parent enrolled full-time in an institution of higher education who cares for a 
dependent under age 12. BEM 245, p. 5. For the care of a child under age six, consider 
the student to be providing physical care as long as he or she claims primary 
responsibility for such care, even though another adult may be in the FAP group. BEM 
245, p. 5. 

At the hearing, the Department confirmed that Petitioner’s children were enrolled as full-
time college students. Per policy, Petitioner’s children would be deferred from the TLFA 
work requirements. Therefore, the Department did not act in accordance with policy 
when it determined Petitioner’s children were not eligible for FAP benefits due to their 
failure to meet the TLFA work requirements. 

The Department also testified that Petitioner alleged that her children were working a 
minimum of 20 hours per week. However, the Department stated that Petitioner did not 
submit verification of her children’s employment until March 18, 2020, and that the 
verifications that were submitted were inadequate. 

Verification is usually required at application/redetermination and for a reported change 
affecting eligibility or benefit level. BAM 130 (April 2017), p. 1. To request verification of 
information, the Department sends a verification checklist (VCL) which tells the client 
what verification is required, how to obtain it, and the due date. BAM 130, p. 3. For FAP 
cases, the Department allows the client 10 calendar days (or other time limit specified in 
policy) to provide the verification that is required. BAM 130 (April 2017), p. 7. The 
Department sends a negative action notice when: the client indicates a refusal to 
provide a verification OR the time period given has elapsed and the client has not made 
a reasonable effort to provide it. BAM 130, p. 7. 
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The only evidence presented by the Department were notices of TLFA countable 
months (Exhibit A, pp. 6-11). As stated above, Petitioner’s children should be deferred 
from the TLFA requirements. For the children to be eligible, Petitioner would need to 
submit verification that her children were working a minimum of 20 hours per week. The 
Department did not present any evidence that a VCL was sent to Petitioner requesting 
the verifications, nor did the Department provide the verifications that were deemed 
insufficient that were submitted by Petitioner on March 18, 2020. In the absence of such 
evidence, the Department failed to establish that it acted in accordance with policy when 
it determined that Petitioner’s children were not eligible for FAP benefits. Therefore, the 
Department failed to establish that it acted in accordance with policy when it determined 
Petitioner’s FAP eligibility.  

DECISION AND ORDER 

The Administrative Law Judge, based on the above Findings of Fact and Conclusions of 
Law, and for the reasons stated on the record, if any, finds that the Department failed to 
satisfy its burden of showing that it acted in accordance with Department policy when it   
determined Petitioner’s FAP eligibility. 

Accordingly, the Department’s decision is REVERSED. 

THE DEPARTMENT IS ORDERED TO BEGIN DOING THE FOLLOWING, IN 
ACCORDANCE WITH DEPARTMENT POLICY AND CONSISTENT WITH THIS 
HEARING DECISION, WITHIN 10 DAYS OF THE DATE OF MAILING OF THIS 
DECISION AND ORDER: 

1. Redetermine Petitioner’s FAP eligibility as of March 1, 2020, ongoing; 

2. If Petitioner is eligible for additional FAP benefits, issue supplements she is entitled 
to receive; and 

3. Notify Petitioner of its decision in writing. 

EM/cg Ellen McLemore  
Administrative Law Judge 
for Robert Gordon, Director 
Department of Health and Human Services 
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NOTICE OF APPEAL:  A party may appeal this Order in circuit court within 30 days of 
the receipt date.  A copy of the circuit court appeal must be filed with the Michigan 
Office of Administrative Hearings and Rules (MOAHR).   

A party may request a rehearing or reconsideration of this Order if the request is 
received by MOAHR within 30 days of the date the Order was issued. The party 
requesting a rehearing or reconsideration must provide the specific reasons for the 
request.  MOAHR will not review any response to a request for 
rehearing/reconsideration.  

A written request may be mailed or faxed to MOAHR.  If submitted by fax, the written 
request must be faxed to (517) 763-0155; Attention:  MOAHR 
Rehearing/Reconsideration Request. 

If submitted by mail, the written request must be addressed as follows: 

Michigan Office of Administrative Hearings and Rules 
Reconsideration/Rehearing Request 

P.O. Box 30639 
Lansing, Michigan  48909-8139 

Via Email: MDHHS-Wayne-57-Hearings 
M. Holden 
D. Sweeney 
BSC4- Hearing Decisions 
MOAHR 

Petitioner – Via First-Class Mail:  
 

 


