
STATE OF MICHIGAN

RICK SNYDER 
GOVERNOR 

DEPARTMENT OF LICENSING AND REGULATORY AFFAIRS 
MICHIGAN ADMINISTRATIVE HEARING SYSTEM 

SHELLY EDGERTON
DIRECTOR 

 
 

 

Date Mailed: June 7, 2018
MAHS Docket No.: 18-003631 
Agency No.:  
Petitioner:  

ADMINISTRATIVE LAW JUDGE: Ellen McLemore  

HEARING DECISION 

Following Petitioner’s request for a hearing, this matter is before the undersigned 
Administrative Law Judge pursuant to MCL 400.9 and 400.37; 7 CFR 273.15 to 273.18; 
42 CFR 431.200 to 431.250; 42 CFR 438.400 to 438.424; 45 CFR 99.1 to 99.33; and 45 
CFR 205.10; and Mich Admin Code, R 792.11002.  After due notice, a telephone 
hearing was held on June 6, 2018, from Detroit, Michigan. Petitioner was present and 
represented herself. The Department of Health and Human Services (Department) was 
represented by Ryan Clemons, Family Independence Manager.   

ISSUE 

Did the Department properly deny Petitioner’s application for Family Independence 
Program (FIP) benefits? 

FINDINGS OF FACT 

The Administrative Law Judge, based on the competent, material, and substantial 
evidence on the whole record, finds as material fact: 

1. On , 2018, Petitioner submitted an application for FIP benefits. 

2. On March 30, 2018, the Department sent Petitioner a Notice of Case Action 
informing her that her application for FIP benefits was denied, as she had 
exceeded the state time limit. 

3. On April 6, 2018, Petitioner submitted a request for hearing disputing the 
Department’s actions. 
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CONCLUSIONS OF LAW 

Department policies are contained in the Department of Health and Human Services 
Bridges Administrative Manual (BAM), Department of Health and Human Services 
Bridges Eligibility Manual (BEM), Department of Health and Human Services Reference 
Tables Manual (RFT), and Department of Health and Human Services Emergency 
Relief Manual (ERM).   

The Family Independence Program (FIP) was established pursuant to the Personal 
Responsibility and Work Opportunity Reconciliation Act of 1996, Pub. L. No. 104-193, 
and 42 USC 601 to 679c.  The Department (formerly known as the Department of 
Human Services) administers FIP pursuant to 45 CFR 233-260, MCL 400.10, the Social 
Welfare Act, MCL 400.1-.119b, and Mich Admin Code, R 400.3101-.3131.   

In this case, Petitioner submitted an application for FIP benefits on , 2018. On 
March 29, 2018, the Department sent Petitioner a Notice of Case Action informing her 
that her FIP application was denied, as she had exceeded the State time limit. 

The FIP program is not an entitlement. BEM 234 (July 2013), p. 1. Michigan operates a 
single Family Independence Program whose budgeting and accounting methods use 
both federal and state funds. BEM 234, p. 1. The state time limit reflects the number of 
remaining months an individual may receive FIP in the state of Michigan. BEM 234, p. 
4. Michigan has a 48 month lifetime limit. BEM 234, p. 4. Each month an individual 
receives FIP, regardless of the funding source (federal or state), the individual receives 
a count of one month. BEM 234, p. 4. A family is ineligible for FIP when a mandatory 
group member in the program group reaches the 48 month state time limit. BEM 234, p. 
1. Each month an individual serves a sanction period, those months count toward their 
state time limit. BEM 234, p. 6. Sanction months should be counted starting Oct. 1, 
2007. BEM 234, p. 6. Individuals that receive a time limit count are: (i) adults age 18 
and older who are eligible in the FIP group; and (ii) minor parents who are the head-of-
household. BEM 234, p. 6. Individuals who do not receive a FIP time limit count are: (i) 
dependent children age 18 and younger who are eligible in the FIP group; (ii) ineligible 
grantees; and (iii) Dependent children age 19 and in high school full0time who are 
eligible in the FIP group. BEM 234, p. 6. 

The state time limit allows exemption months in which an individual does not receive a 
count towards the individual’s state time limit. BEM 234, p. 4. Effective Oct. 1, 2011, 
exemption months are months the individual is deferred from PATH for: (i) domestic 
violence; (ii) age 65 and older; (iii) a verified disability or long-term incapacity lasting 
longer than 90 days; or (iv) a spouse or parent who provides care for a spouse or child 
with verified disabilities living in the home. BEM 234, p. 4.   

The Department provided the State of Michigan FIP Time Limit Counter showing each 
of the countable months that Petitioner received state funded FIP benefits (Exhibit B, 
pp. 1-4). The Department testified that it relied on this list to establish that 48 countable 
months of FIP benefits were issued to Petitioner during the relevant time period. The 
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Michigan FIP Time Limit Counter shows that Petitioner received 44 months of state 
funded FIP benefits after she turned 18, three of which were exempt, and nine months 
where she was subject to a sanction. Petitioner acknowledged that she had been 
sanctioned on multiple occasions. The Michigan FIP Time Limit Counter shows 
Petitioner received 50 months of countable state funded FIP benefits. Therefore, 
Department’s evidence was sufficient to establish that Petitioner received a total of 48 
countable months of State funded FIP benefits.  

DECISION AND ORDER 

The Administrative Law Judge, based on the above Findings of Fact and Conclusions of 
Law, and for the reasons stated on the record, if any, finds that the Department acted in 
accordance with Department policy when it denied Petitioner’s application for FIP 
benefits. Accordingly, the Department’s decision is AFFIRMED.  

EM/cg Ellen McLemore  
Administrative Law Judge
for Nick Lyon, Director 
Department of Health and Human Services 
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NOTICE OF APPEAL:  A party may appeal this Order in circuit court within 30 days of 
the receipt date.  A copy of the circuit court appeal must be filed with the Michigan 
Administrative Hearing System (MAHS).   

A party may request a rehearing or reconsideration of this Order if the request is 
received by MAHS within 30 days of the date the Order was issued. The party 
requesting a rehearing or reconsideration must provide the specific reasons for the 
request.  MAHS will not review any response to a request for 
rehearing/reconsideration.  

A written request may be mailed or faxed to MAHS.  If submitted by fax, the written 
request must be faxed to (517) 763-0155; Attention:  MAHS Rehearing/Reconsideration 
Request. 

If submitted by mail, the written request must be addressed as follows: 

Michigan Administrative Hearings 
Reconsideration/Rehearing Request 

P.O. Box 30639 
Lansing, Michigan 48909-8139 

Via Email: MDHHS-Washtenaw-20-Hearings 
B. Sanborn 
B. Cabanaw 
BSC4- Hearing Decisions 
MAHS 

Petitioner – Via First-Class Mail:  
 

 


