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updated Plan of Care; and Nursing Assessment which was less than 60 
days old for the months of January or February; Inpatient/ER (or other 
significant medical) events, or acute physician visit(s); Admission history 
and Physical Report(s), discharge summary(ies), Results of Routine 
physician visits, planned medical visit/tests (i.e. vent clinic, etc.); test 
results (i.e. bronchoscopy, sleep study, etc.); and beneficiary’s school 
schedule including travel time (i.e. number of hours per day & number of 
days per week). (State’s Exhibit A page 7) 

 
4. Petitioner is diagnosed with malignant neoplasm of brain, unspecified, 

obstructive hydrocephalus, congenital malformation of esophagus, 
unspecified tracheostomy complication, unspecified sequelae of 
unspecified cerebrovascular disease/neuromuscular disorder after brain 
tumor removal. (State’s Exhibit A page 76) 

 
5. Petitioner lives with two adult family members (Her father and her 

grandmother who assist in providing her care).  
 
6. On March 16, 2016, the Department received a Plan of Care for Petitioner 

from Generations Home Care Group, date February 18, 2016. (State’s 
Exhibit A pages 23 -26) 

 
7. On March 17, 2016, Generations Home Care Group sent Petitioner a 

second letter stating that the Supervisor Nursing Assessment was greater 
than 60 days old and requesting updated information. (State’s Exhibit A 
page 9) 

 
8. On August 8, 2016, the Department sent Petitioner a Notification of 

Transitional Reduction of private duty nursing services stating that the 
denial was made because no documentation submitted of any ER visits or 
hospitalizations over the past six months after multiple requests, both 
verbally and in writing. School attendance of 40 hours per week. The 
reductions were as follows: Maintain 10 hours a day February 1, 2016 
through April 30,2016; 8 hours a day from May 1, 2016 through 
September 30, 2016.(State’s Exhibit A page 11) 

 
9. On April 18, 2016, the Michigan Administrative Hearings System received 

a Request for Hearing to contest the reduction of Petitioner’s Private Duty 
Nursing (PDN hours). 
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CONCLUSIONS OF LAW 
 
The Medical Assistance Program (MA) is established pursuant to Title XIX of the Social 
Security Act and is implemented by Title 42 of the Code of Federal Regulations (CFR).  
It is administered in accordance with state statute, the Administrative Code, and the 
State Plan under Title XIX of the Social Security Act Medical Assistance Program. 
 
The Medicaid Provider Manual (MPM) states in pertinent part: 
 

1.3 PROVISION OF PRIVATE DUTY NURSING 
 
PDN must be ordered by a physician and provided by a Medicaid enrolled 
private duty nursing agency, a Medicaid enrolled registered nurse (RN), or 
a Medicaid enrolled licensed practical nurse (LPN) who is working under 
the supervision of an RN (per Michigan Public Health Code). It is the 
responsibility of the LPN to secure the RN supervision. 

 
1.4 PRIOR AUTHORIZATION 
 
PDN services must be authorized by the Program Review Division, the 
Children’s Waiver, or the Habilitation Supports Waiver before services are 
provided. (Refer to the Directory Appendix for contact information.) PDN 
services are authorized and billed in 15-minute incremental units (1 unit = 
15 minutes). Prior authorization of a particular PDN provider to render 
services considers the following factors: 

 
 Available third party resources. 
 Beneficiary/family choice. 
 Beneficiary’s medical needs and age. 
 The knowledge and appropriate nursing skills needed for the 

specific case. 
 The understanding of the concept and delivery of home care and 

linkages to relevant services and health care organizations in the 
area served. 
 

The Private Duty Nursing Prior Authorization – Request for Services form 
(MSA-0732) must be submitted when requesting PDN for persons with 
Medicaid coverage before services can begin and at regular intervals 
thereafter if continued services are determined to be necessary. A copy of 
the form is provided in the Forms Appendix and is also available on the 
MDHHS website. (Refer to the Directory Appendix for website 
information.) This form is not to be used for beneficiaries enrolled in, or 
receiving case management services from, the Children's Waiver, 
Habilitation Supports Waiver, or MI Choice Waiver.  
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Private Duty Nursing is not a benefit under CSHCS. Individuals with 
CSHCS coverage may be eligible for PDN under Medicaid. 
 

MPM, Private Duty Nursing,  
Page 3, April 1, 2016 

 
The MSA-0732 must be submitted every time services are requested for 
the following situations: 

 for initial services when the beneficiary has never received PDN 
services under Medicaid, such as following a hospitalization or 
when there is an increase in severity of an acute or chronic 
condition; 

 for continuation of services beyond the end date of the current 
authorization period (renewal); 

 for an increase in services; or 
 for a decrease in services. 

 
Following receipt and review of the MSA-0732 and the required 
documentation by the Program Review Division, a notice is sent to the 
PDN provider and beneficiary or primary caregiver, either approving or 
denying services, or requesting additional information. The provider must 
maintain this notice in the beneficiary’s medical record. For services that 
are approved, the Notice of Authorization will contain the prior 
authorization number and approved authorization dates. It is important to 
include this PA number on every claim and in all other communications to 
the MDHHS Program Review Division. 
 
If a beneficiary receiving PDN continues to require the services after the 
initial authorization period, a new MSA-0732 must be submitted along with 
the required documentation supporting the continued need for PDN. This 
request must be received by the Program Review Division no less than 15 
business days prior to the end of the current authorization period. Failure 
to do so may result in a delay of authorization for continued services 
which, in turn, may result in delayed or no payment for services rendered 
without authorization. The length of each subsequent authorization period 
will be determined by the Program Review Division and will be specific to 
each beneficiary based on several factors, including the beneficiary’s 
medical needs and family situation. 
 
If during an authorization period a beneficiary’s condition changes 
warranting an increase or decrease in the number of approved units or a 
discontinuation of services, the provider must report the change to the 
MDHHS Program Review Division. (Refer to the Directory Appendix for 
contact information.) It is important that the provider report all changes as 
soon as they occur, as well as properly updating the plan of care. The 
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request to increase or decrease units must be accompanied by an 
updated and signed POC; and documentation from the attending 
physician addressing the medical need if the request is for an increase in 
PDN units. 
 
Often the request to begin services will be submitted by a PDN agency or 
individual PDN; however, a person other than the PDN provider (such as 
the hospital discharge planner, CSHCS case manager, physician, or 
physician’s staff person) may submit the MSA-0732. When this is the 
case, the person submitting the request must do so in consultation with 
the PDN agency or individual PDN who will be assuming responsibility for 
the care of the beneficiary. 
 
If services are requested for more than one beneficiary in the home, a 
separate MSA-0732 must be completed for each beneficiary. 
 
The PA number is for private duty nursing only. Any CMHSP prior 
authorized respite services must be billed to the authorizing CMHSP. 
 

MPM, Private Duty Nursing,  
Page 4, April 1, 2016 

 
1.4.A. DOCUMENTATION REQUIREMENTS 
 
The following documentation is required for all PA requests for PDN 
services and must accompany the MSA-0732: 
 

 Most recent signed and dated nursing assessment, including a 
summary of the Beneficiary’s current status compared to their 
status during the previous authorization period, completed by a 
registered nurse; 

 Nursing notes for two (2) four-day periods, including one four-day 
period that reflects the most current medically stable period and 
another four-day period that reflects the most recent acute episode 
of illness related to the PDN qualifying diagnosis/condition; 

 Most recent updated plan of care (POC) signed and dated by the 
ordering/managing physician, RN, and the beneficiary's 
parent/guardian. The POC must support the skilled nursing 
services requested; 

 
The POC must include: 

 Name of beneficiary and Medicaid ID number 
 Diagnosis(es)/presenting symptom(s)/condition(s) 
 Name, address, and telephone number of the ordering/managing 

physician 
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o Frequency and duration of skilled nursing visits, and the frequency 
and types of skilled interventions, assessments, and judgments that 
pertain to and support the PDN services to be provided and billed 

 Identification of technology-based medical equipment, assistive 
devices (and/or appliances), durable medical equipment, and 
supplies 

 Other services being provided in the home by community-based 
entities that may affect the total care needs 

 List of medications and pharmaceuticals (prescribed and over-the-
counter) 

 Statement of family strengths, capabilities, and support systems 
available for assisting in the provision of the PDN benefit (for 
renewals, submit changes only) 

 All hospital discharge summaries for admissions related to the PDN 
qualifying diagnosis/condition within the last authorization period; 
and 

 Other documentation as requested by MDHHS. 
 
1.4.B. BENEFICIARY ELIGIBILITY 
 
Approval of the MSA-0732 confirms that the service is authorized for the 
beneficiary. The approval does not guarantee that the beneficiary is 
eligible for Medicaid. If the beneficiary is not eligible on the date of service, 
MDHHS will not reimburse the provider for services provided and billed. 
To assure payment, the provider must verify beneficiary eligibility monthly 
at a minimum. 

 
MPM, Private Duty Nursing,  

Page 5, April 1, 2016 
 

1.6 GENERAL ELIGIBILITY REQUIREMENTS 
 
The beneficiary is eligible for PDN coverage when all of the following 
requirements are met: 
 

 The beneficiary is eligible for Medicaid in the home/community 
setting (i.e., in the noninstitutional setting). 

 The beneficiary is under the age of 21 and meets the medical 
criteria for PDN. 

 PDN is appropriate, considering the beneficiary’s health and 
medical care needs. 

 PDN can be provided safely in the home setting. 
 The beneficiary, his family (or guardian), the beneficiary’s 

physician, the Medicaid case manager, and RN (i.e., from the PDN 
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agency or the Medicaid enrolled RN, or the supervising RN for the 
Medicaid enrolled LPN) have collaborated and developed an 
integrated plan of care (POC) that identifies and addresses the 
beneficiary’s need for PDN. The PDN must be under the direction 
of the beneficiary’s physician; the physician must prescribe/order 
the services. The POC must be signed and dated by the 
beneficiary’s physician, RN (as described above), and by the 
beneficiary or beneficiary’s parent/guardian. The POC must be 
updated at least annually or more frequently as needed based on 
the beneficiary’s medical needs. 

MPM, Private Duty Nursing,  
Page 3, April 1, 2016 

 
1.7 BENEFIT LIMITATIONS 
 
The purpose of the PDN benefit is to assist the beneficiary with medical 
care, enabling the beneficiary to remain in their home. The benefit is not 
intended to supplant the caregiving responsibility of parents, guardians, or 
other responsible parties (e.g., foster parents). There must be a primary 
caregiver (i.e., parent, guardian, significant other adult) who resides with a 
beneficiary under the age of 18, and the caregiver must provide a monthly 
average of a minimum of eight hours of care during a typical 24-hour 
period. The calculation of the number of units authorized per month 
includes eight hours or more of care that will be provided by the caregiver 
during a 24-hour period, which are then averaged across the time 
authorized for the month. The caregiver has the flexibility to use the 
monthly-authorized units as needed during the month. 
 
The time a beneficiary is under the supervision of another entity or 
individual (e.g., in school, in day/child care, in work program) cannot be 
used to meet the eight hours of obligated care as discussed above, nor 
can the eight hours of care requirement for beneficiaries under age 18 be 
met by other public funded programs (e.g., MDHHS Home Help Program) 
or other resources for hourly care (e.g., private health insurance, trusts, 
bequests, private pay). 

 
1.8 SERVICE LOG 
 
If PDN is prior approved and care is initiated, a detailed log for each date 
of service must be maintained. The service log must be beneficiary 
specific, with the beneficiary's name and birth date in the header portion of 
the document. In cases where the nurse is caring for two or more 
beneficiaries in the same home, a separate service log for each 
beneficiary must be maintained. This log must be kept in the beneficiary's 
record. 
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MPM, Private Duty Nursing,  

Page 7, April 1, 2016 
 

2.6 CHANGE IN BENEFICIARY'S CONDITION/PDN AS A 
TRANSITIONAL BENEFIT 
 
Medicaid policy requires that the integrated plan of care (POC) be updated 
as necessary based on the beneficiary's medical needs. Additionally, 
when a beneficiary's condition changes, warranting a decrease in the 
number of approved hours or a discontinuation of services, the provider 
must report the change to the appropriate authorizing agent (i.e., the 
Program Review Division, Children's Waiver, or Habilitation 
Supports Waiver) in writing. Changes such as weaning from a ventilator or 
tracheostomy decannulation can occur after months or years of services, 
or a beneficiary's condition may stabilize to the point of requiring fewer 
PDN hours or the discontinuation of hours altogether. It is important that 
the provider report all changes resulting in a decrease in the number of 
hours to the authorizing agent as soon as they occur, as well as properly 
updating the POC. MDHHS will seek recovery of monies inappropriately 
paid to the provider if, during case review, the authorizing agent 
determines that a beneficiary required fewer PDN hours than was 
provided and MDHHS was not notified of the change in condition. In some 
cases, the authorized PDN services may be considered a transitional 
benefit. In cases such as this, one of the primary reasons for providing 
services should be to assist the family or caregiver(s) to become 
independent in the care of the beneficiary. The provider, in collaboration 
with the family or caregiver(s), may decide that the authorized number of 
hours should be decreased gradually to accommodate increased 
independence on the part of the family, caregiver(s), and/or beneficiary. A 
detailed exit plan with instructions relating to the decrease in hours and 
possible discontinuation of care should be documented in the POC. The 
provider must notify the authorizing agent that hours are being decreased 
and/or when the care will be discontinued. 

 
MPM, Private Duty Nursing,  

Page 15, April 1, 2016 
 
Petitioner’s witness testified that the service agency, Generations Home Care Group, 
has not been providing approved care for his daughter during the week and has only 
been coming on weekends. The family was unaware of the lack of documentation until it 
received the reduction notice. The family is in the process of searching for and retaining 
another Home Care Provider for Petitioner. 
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In the instant case, evidence on the record indicates that an updated plan of care was 
not submitted to the Department from the Generation Home Care Group (service 
agency). The service agency was notified of the need for updated plan of service 
documents including. The service agency notified the Department that the father 
refused to give the service agency a copy of an e-mail (State’s Exhibit A page 13).  
 
Documentation in the file indicated that Petitioner was attending school for 40 hours per 
week and that very little PDN was being provided to Petitioner by the service agency. 
When determining how many hours of PDN a person may be authorized for the 
Department must take into consideration the hours that they attend school. Testimony 
on the record indicates that Petitioner attends school 40 hours per week. A beneficiary 
who attends school 25 or more hours per week, on average, with a medium intensity 
level of care should authorized for a maximum  of 8 hours per day. MPM, Private Duty 
Nursing, Section 2.4, page 12. 
 
This Administrative Law Judge finds that based on the evidence submitted, Petitioner 
failed to prove by a preponderance of evidence that the denial in PDN was improper at 
the time it was made. The Department has established by the necessary competent, 
material and substantial evidence on the record that it was acting in compliance with 
Department policy when it denied Petitioner’s application for Private Duty Nursing 
benefits based upon its determination that Petitioner did not provide sufficient evidence 
of medical necessity for the requested benefits. The Department’s decision to reduce 
Petitioner’s authorization for Private Duty Nursing must be upheld. 
 
DECISION AND ORDER 
 
The Administrative Law Judge, based on the above findings of fact and conclusions of 
law, decides that the Department properly denied the Petitioner’s request for PDN hours 
based on the available information.   

 
IT IS THEREFORE ORDERED that: 
 

The Department’s decision is AFFIRMED. 
  

 
 
 
 
 

LL/sb Landis Lain  
 Administrative Law Judge 

for Nick Lyon, Director 
Department of Health and Human Services 
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NOTICE OF APPEAL:  A party may appeal this Order in circuit court within 30 days of 
the receipt date.  A copy of the circuit court appeal must be filed with the Michigan 
Administrative Hearing System (MAHS).   
 
A party may request a rehearing or reconsideration of this Order if the request is 
received by MAHS within 30 days of the date the Order was issued. The party 
requesting a rehearing or reconsideration must provide the specific reasons for the 
request.  MAHS will not review any response to a request for 
rehearing/reconsideration.  
 
A written request may be mailed or faxed to MAHS.  If submitted by fax, the written 
request must be faxed to (517) 335-6088; Attention:  MAHS Rehearing/Reconsideration 
Request. 
 
If submitted by mail, the written request must be addressed as follows: 
 

Michigan Administrative Hearings 
Reconsideration/Rehearing Request 

P.O. Box 30763 
Lansing, Michigan  48909-8139 






