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DCH will determine whether an offset is allowable. 

Offsets will be applied to the months following an approval. 
In general, the allowable expenses are the same as allowed 
for a group 2 deductible case. In addition, the medical 
expense(s) must be: 

• Expenses incurred in the three months prior to 
application for Medicaid. 

• Unpaid, and an obligation still exists to pay. 

• Cannot be from a month where Medicaid eligibility 
existed. 

• Cannot be covered by a third party source (public or 
private). 

• Cannot be from a month in which a divestment penalty 
has been imposed. 

• Cannot have been used previously as a pre-eligibility 
medical expense to offset a patient pay amount. 

• Can include cost of room and board for Medicaid LTC 
facilities, remedial care, and other medical expenses 
recognized by Michigan law but not covered under the 
Michigan state plan. 

• Must be reported prior to the first Medicaid 
redetermination following the initial eligibility. 

• DCH will terminate offsets if there is a failure to pay the 
medical provider with the funds. 

Pursuant to the above policy, the Department denied Petitioner’s request for a PEME 
offset in this case because the expenses for  did not occur in the three months 
prior to Petitioner’s  Medicaid application that led to eligibility.  Given 
that  was four months prior to the  application, the 
Department’s Specialist indicated that she had no choice but to deny the requested 
PEME for  pursuant to policy.   

Petitioner’s daughter testified that she started Petitioner’s Medicaid application right 
after Petitioner had a brain aneurism and went into a nursing home.  Petitioner’s 
daughter indicated that the social worker she worked with at the nursing home was very 
busy and she had to ask for extensions in the application process because she could 
not get a cash value on a Colonial Penn life insurance policy.  Petitioner’s daughter 
testified that when the first application was denied in  due to lack of 
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NOTICE OF APPEAL:  A party may appeal this Order in circuit court within 30 days of 
the receipt date.  A copy of the circuit court appeal must be filed with the Michigan 
Administrative Hearing System (MAHS).   
 
A party may request a rehearing or reconsideration of this Order if the request is 
received by MAHS within 30 days of the date the Order was issued. The party 
requesting a rehearing or reconsideration must provide the specific reasons for the 
request.  MAHS will not review any response to a request for 
rehearing/reconsideration.  
 
A written request may be mailed or faxed to MAHS.  If submitted by fax, the written 
request must be faxed to (517) 335-6088; Attention:  MAHS Rehearing/Reconsideration 
Request. 
 
If submitted by mail, the written request must be addressed as follows: 
 

Michigan Administrative Hearings 
Reconsideration/Rehearing Request 

P.O. Box 30763 
Lansing, Michigan  48909-8139 






