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CONCLUSIONS OF LAW 

Department policies are contained in the Department of Health and Human Services 
Bridges Administrative Manual (BAM), Department of Health and Human Services 
Bridges Eligibility Manual (BEM), Department of Health and Human Services Reference 
Tables Manual (RFT), and Department of Health and Human Services Emergency 
Relief Manual (ERM).   

The Medical Assistance (MA) program is established by Title XIX of the Social Security 
Act, 42 USC 1396-1396w-5; 42 USC 1315; the Affordable Care Act of 2010, the 
collective term for the Patient Protection and Affordable Care Act, Pub. L. No. 111-148, 
as amended by the Health Care and Education Reconciliation Act of 2010, Pub. L. No. 
111-152; and 42 CFR 430.10-.25.  The Department (formerly known as the Department 
of Human Services) administers the MA program pursuant to 42 CFR 435, MCL 400.10, 
and MCL 400.105-.112k. 

All earned and unearned income available to the Claimant is countable.  Earned income 
means income received from another person or organization or from self-employment 
for duties for duties that were performed for compensation or profit.  Unearned income 
means all income that is not earned, including but not limited to funds received from the 
Family Independence Program (FIP), State Disability Assistance (SDA), Child 
Development and Care (CDC), Medicaid (MA), Social Security Benefits (RSDI/SSI), 
Veterans Administration (VA), Unemployment Compensation Benefits (UCB), Adult 
Medical Program (AMA), alimony, and child support payments.  The amount counted 
may be more than the client actually receives because the gross amount is used prior to 
any deductions.  Department of Human Services Bridges Eligibility Manual (BEM) 500 
(July 1, 2014). 

The income limit to participate in the Healthy Michigan Plan (HMP) is 133% of the 
federal poverty level.  Department of Health and Human Services Reference Table 
Manual (RFT) 246 (April 1, 2014), p 1. 

All income is converted to a standard monthly amount.  If the client is paid weekly, the 
Department multiplies the average weekly amount by 4.3.  If the client is paid every 
other week, the Department multiplies the average bi-weekly amount by 2.15.  
Department of Human Services Bridges Eligibility Manual (BEM) 505 (July 1, 2014), pp 
6-7. 

The Claimant was an ongoing MA recipient in the Healthy Michigan Program (HMP) 
when the Department redetermined her eligibility to receive continuing benefits.  The 
Claimant is employed at a rate of $  per hour. 

The Department had mistakenly recorded the Claimant as receiving a paycheck on a bi-
weekly basis.  A person working 80 hours on a bi-weekly basis is receiving a $  
monthly income as determined under BEM 505.  A person that is paid twice monthly for 
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80 hours of work at a rate of $  has a $  gross monthly income under that same 
policy. 

While the Department may have mistakenly determined that the Claimant is paid bi-
weekly instead of twice per month, the Department’s closure of HMP benefits based on 
income remained proper.  The monthly income limit to receive HMP benefits is 
$ .   

The Administrative Law Judge, based on the above Findings of Fact and Conclusions of 
Law, and for the reasons stated on the record, if any, finds that the Department acted in 
accordance with Department policy when it closed the Claimant’s Medical Assistance 
(MA) benefits under the Healthy Michigan Program (HMP). 

DECISION AND ORDER 
 
Accordingly, the Department’s decision is AFFIRMED.  

 
 
  

 

 Kevin Scully
 
 
 
Date Signed:  9/10/2015 
 
Date Mailed:   9/10/2015 
 
KS/  

Administrative Law Judge
for Nick Lyon, Director

Department of Health and Human Services

 
NOTICE OF APPEAL:  A party may appeal this Hearing Decision in the circuit court in 
the county in which he/she resides, or the circuit court in Ingham County, within 30 days 
of the receipt date. 
 
A party may request a rehearing or reconsideration of this Hearing Decision from the 
Michigan Administrative Hearing System (MAHS) within 30 days of the mailing date of 
this Hearing Decision, or MAHS MAY order a rehearing or reconsideration on its own 
motion.   
 
MAHS MAY grant a party’s Request for Rehearing or Reconsideration when one of the 
following exists: 
 






