


Page 2 of 4 
15-009703/KS 

Tables Manual (RFT), and Department of Health and Human Services Emergency 
Relief Manual (ERM).   

The Family Independence Program (FIP) was established pursuant to the Personal 
Responsibility and Work Opportunity Reconciliation Act of 1996, Pub. L. No. 104-193, 
and 42 USC 601 to 679c.  The Department (formerly known as the Department of 
Human Services) administers FIP pursuant to 45 CFR 233-260, MCL 400.10, the Social 
Welfare Act, MCL 400.1-.119b, and Mich Admin Code, R 400.3101-.3131. 

Time limits are essential to establishing the temporary nature of aid as well as 
communicating the FIP philosophy to support a family’s movement to self-sufficiency. 
The message that FIP is temporary is an important part of how Michigan helps parents 
take advantage of the opportunities for work as well as self-sufficiency and 
independence. Families receiving FIP are to engage in activities that will help them gain 
financial independence and increase self-sufficiency.  Department of Health and Human 
Services Bridges Eligibility Manual (BEM) 234 (July 1, 2013), p 1. 

The state time limit reflects the number of remaining months an individual may receive 
FIP in the state of Michigan.  Michigan has a 48 month lifetime limit.  This 48 month 
lifetime limit is more restrictive than the federal 60 month lifetime limit.  Each month an 
individual receives FIP, regardless of the funding source (federal or state), the individual 
receives a count of one month.  A family is ineligible for FIP when a mandatory group 
member in the program group reaches the 48 month state time limit.  BEM 234, p 4. 

The state time limit allows exemption months in which an individual does not receive a 
count towards the individual’s state time limit.  However, the federal time limit continues, 
unless the exemption is state funded.  Exemption months are months the individual is 
deferred from Partnership. Accountability. Training. Hope. (PATH) for: 

• Domestic violence. 

• Age 65 and older. 

• A verified disability or long-term incapacity lasting longer than 90 days. 

• A spouse or parent who provides care for a spouse or child with verified 
disabilities living in the home.  BEM 234, p 4. 

In this case, the Claimant was an ongoing FIP recipient through July 1, 2015.  The 
Department presented records showing that the Claimant has been a FIP recipient 
since June 1, 1996, with benefits received for  months since then.  These records 
reflect at least 48 of those months were state funded FIP benefits. 

The Claimant argued that she was pregnant for some of those months and those 
months should not be counted towards her state-funded count.  The Claimant testified 
that her child is less than four years old and therefore she could not have reached the 
48 month time limit. 



Page 3 of 4 
15-009703/KS 

This Administrative Law Judge finds no exclusion from state-funded FIP benefits for 
pregnancy or post-partum child care.  This Administrative Law Judge does not find any 
basis for excluding any of the Claimant’s most recent 48 months of benefits from her 
state-funded counter. 

The Administrative Law Judge, based on the above Findings of Fact and Conclusions of 
Law, and for the reasons stated on the record, if any, finds that the Department acted in 
accordance with Department policy when it closed the Claimant’s Family Independence 
Program (FIP) benefits because the Claimant has reached the 48 month limit for the 
receipt of state-funded assistance. 

DECISION AND ORDER 
 
Accordingly, the Department’s decision is AFFIRMED.  
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NOTICE OF APPEAL:  A party may appeal this Hearing Decision in the circuit court in 
the county in which he/she resides, or the circuit court in Ingham County, within 30 days 
of the receipt date. 
 
A party may request a rehearing or reconsideration of this Hearing Decision from the 
Michigan Administrative Hearing System (MAHS) within 30 days of the mailing date of 
this Hearing Decision, or MAHS MAY order a rehearing or reconsideration on its own 
motion.   
 
MAHS MAY grant a party’s Request for Rehearing or Reconsideration when one of the 
following exists: 
 

 Newly discovered evidence that existed at the time of the original hearing that 
could affect the outcome of the original hearing decision; 

 Misapplication of manual policy or law in the hearing decision which led to a 
wrong conclusion; 






