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HEARING DECISION 
 

Following Claimant’s request for a hearing, this matter is before the undersigned 
Administrative Law Judge pursuant to MCL 400.9 and 400.37; 7 CFR 273.15 to 273.18; 
42 CFR 431.200 to 431.250; 45 CFR 99.1 to 99.33; and 45 CFR 205.10.  After due 
notice, an in-person hearing was held on October 15, 2014, from Inkster, Michigan.  
Participants on behalf of Claimant included Claimant  

  Participants on behalf of the Department of Human Services (Department) 
included  

 
 

ISSUE 
 

Did the Department properly calculate Claimant’s Food Assistance Program (FAP) 
benefits for July 1, 2014 ongoing? 
 

FINDINGS OF FACT 
 

The Administrative Law Judge, based on the competent, material, and substantial 
evidence on the whole record, finds as material fact: 
 
1. On July 1, 2014, Claimant applied for FAP benefits.   

2. On July 22, 2014, the Department sent Claimant a Notice of Case Action notifying 
her that she was eligible for monthly FAP benefits of $15 effective July 1, 2014. 

3. On July 28, 2014, Claimant requested a hearing disputing the Department’s action.   

CONCLUSIONS OF LAW 
 

Department policies are contained in the Department of Human Services Bridges 
Administrative Manual (BAM), Department of Human Services Bridges Eligibility Manual 
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(BEM), Department of Human Services Reference Tables Manual (RFT), and 
Department of Human Services Emergency Relief Manual (ERM).   
 
The Food Assistance Program (FAP) [formerly known as the Food Stamp program] is 
established by the Food Stamp Act of 1977, as amended, 7 USC 2011 to 2036a and is 
implemented by the federal regulations contained in 7 CFR 273.  The Department 
(formerly known as the Family Independence Agency) administers FAP pursuant to 
MCL 400.10, the Social Welfare Act, MCL 400.1-.119b, and Mich Admin Code, R 
400.3001 to .3015. 
 
Additionally, on July 22, 2014, the Department sent Claimant a Notice of Case 
approving her for $15 in monthly FAP effective July 1, 2014.  Claimant disputed the 
calculation of her monthly FAP benefits.   
 
The Department presented a FAP net income budget showing the calculation of 
Claimant’s FAP benefits for July 1, 2014, ongoing that was reviewed with Claimant at 
the hearing.  The budget showed unearned income of $735, which the Department 
testified was the sum of (i) Claimant’s $721 monthly Supplemental Security Income 
(SSI) and (ii) her $14 State SSI Payment (SSP) (based on her receipt of $42 quarterly).  
Claimant confirmed receiving $721 SSI monthly but was uncertain of the SSP benefits.  
Under Department policy, the Department issues SSP to SSI recipients when the 
client’s SOLQ [the Department’s data exchange with the Social Security Administration 
(SSA)] shows that the client was issued SSI as a recurring payment dated the first of 
the month.  BEM 660 (July 2013), p. 1.  In this case, Claimant’s SOLQ report showed 
that Claimant’s monthly SSI payments were recurring payments dated the first of the 
month.  Additionally, the Department presented a consolidated inquiry, a data report 
that retrieves information concerning clients from State of Michigan databases, showing 
that, at the time the inquiry was run in August 2014, Claimant received a quarterly SSP 
payment on June 11, 2014.  Therefore, the Department established that Claimant 
received a $14 monthly SSP payment, based on quarterly SSP payments of $42, and 
properly considered this payment in calculating Claimant’s gross monthly income.  BEM 
660, pp. 1-2; BEM 503 (July 2014), p. 33.  Based on the evidence presented, the 
Department acted in accordance with Department policy when it calculated Claimant’s 
gross monthly unearned income of $735. 
 
The deductions to income on the net income budget were also reviewed.  Claimant is 
the only member of her FAP group and, based on her receipt of SSI and her age, is a 
senior/disabled/veteran (SDV) member of the group.  BEM 550 (February 2014), pp. 1-
2.  Groups with one or more SDV members are eligible for the following deductions to 
income: 
 

 Dependent care expense. 

 Excess shelter. 

 Court ordered child support and arrearages paid to non-household members. 

 Medical expenses for the SDV member(s) that exceed $35. 
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 Standard deduction based on group size. 

 An earned income deduction equal to 20% of any earned income.   
 

BEM 554 (May 2014), p. 1; BEM 556 (July 2013), p. 3.   
 

In this case, Claimant did not have any earned income and confirmed that she had no 
dependent care or child support expenses.  Therefore, the budget properly did not 
include any deduction for earned income, dependent care expenses, or child support 
expenses.  Based on her one-person group size, the Department properly applied the 
$151 standard deduction.  RFT 255 (December 2013), p. 1.  The Department testified 
that Claimant had not verified any out-of-pocket medical expenses over $35, and 
Claimant’s SOLQ shows that the State pays her Part B Medicare premium.  Because 
there was no evidence that Claimant had any medical expenses presented to the 
Department at the time of application, the Department properly excluded any medical 
deduction.  During the hearing, Claimant raised the issue of what expenses are eligible 
for the medical deduction; Claimant is referred to BEM 554, pp. 10-11.   
 
In calculating a client’s excess shelter deduction, the Department considers the client’s 
monthly shelter expenses and the applicable utility standard for any utilities the client is 
responsible to pay.  BEM 556, pp. 4-5.  The utility standard that applies to a client’s 
case is dependent on the client’s circumstances.  The mandatory heat and utility (h/u) 
standard, which is currently $553 and the most advantageous utility standard available 
to a client, is available only for FAP groups (i) that are responsible for heating expenses 
separate from rent or mortgage; (ii) that are responsible for cooling (including room air 
conditioners); (iii) whose heat is included in rent or fees if the client is billed for excess 
heat, has received the home heating credit in an amount greater than $20 in the current 
month or the immediately preceding 12 months, or has received a Low-Income Home 
Energy Assistance Act (LIHEAP) payment or a LIHEAP payment was made on his or 
her behalf; (iv) whose electricity is included in rent or fees if the landlord bills the client 
separately for cooling; or (v) who have any responsibility for heating/cooling expense.  
BEM 554 (May 2014), pp. 16-19; RFT 255 (December 2013), p. 1.  To show 
responsibility for heating and/or cooling expenses, acceptable verification sources 
include, but are not limited to, current bills or a written statement from the provider for 
heating/cooling expenses or excess heat expenses; collateral contact with the landlord 
or the heating/cooling provider; cancelled checks, receipts or money order copies, if 
current, as long as the receipts identify the expense, the amount of the expense, the 
expense address, the provider of the service and the name of the person paying the 
expense; DHS-3688 shelter verification; or a current lease.  BEM 554, pp. 16-19.   
 
FAP groups not eligible for the h/u standard who have other utility expenses or 
contribute to the cost of other utility expenses are eligible for the individual utility 
standards that the FAP group has responsibility to pay.  BEM 554, p. 19.  These include 
the non-heat electric standard (currently $127) if the client has no heating/cooling 
expense but has a responsibility to pay for non-heat electricity; the water and/or sewer 
standard (currently $74) if the client has no heating/cooling expense but has a 
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responsibility to pay for water and/or sewer separate from rent/mortgage; the telephone 
standard (currently $34) if the client has no heating/cooling expense but has a 
responsibility to pay for traditional land-line service, cell phone service, or voice-over-
Internet protocol; the cooking fuel standard (currently $43) if the client has no 
heating/cooling expense but has a responsibility to pay for cooking fuel separate from 
rent/mortgage; and the trash removal standard (currently $14) if the client has no 
heating/cooling expense but has a responsibility to pay for trash removal separate from 
rent/mortgage.  BEM 554, pp. 19-24; RFT 255, p. 1.   
 
In calculating Claimant’s excess shelter deduction, the Department testified that it 
considered Claimant’s $137 monthly rental obligation, which Claimant verified.  In her 
July 1, 2014, FAP application, Claimant did not identify responsibility for any utility 
expenses.  Based on the information Claimant provided at the time of application, the 
Department properly concluded that Claimant was not eligible for the mandatory h/u 
standard or any individual utility standards.  A review of Claimant’s budget shows that, 
based on her monthly shelter expenses, Claimant was not eligible for an excess shelter 
deduction.   
 
Evidence at the hearing established that, with her hearing request, Claimant submitted 
verification of telephone and electrical expenses and the Department testified that it 
adjusted future FAP budgets.  Because those actions took place after Claimant’s 
hearing request was filed, they are not properly presented for consideration in this 
hearing decision.  Claimant’s daughter also contended that Claimant was responsible 
for excess heat expenses.  She was advised to provide verification to the Department to 
affect future FAP benefits.   
 
A review of Claimant’s FAP budget, based on the information available to the 
Department at the time the budget was prepared, shows that the Department properly 
reduced Claimant’s gross income of $735 by the $151 standard deduction, resulting in 
monthly net income of $784.  Based on net income of $784 and a FAP group size of 
one, the Department acted in accordance with Department policy when it concluded that 
Claimant was eligible for monthly FAP benefits of $15.  BEM 556; RFT 260 (December 
2013), p. 10.   
 
The Administrative Law Judge, based on the above Findings of Fact and Conclusions of 
Law, and for the reasons stated on the record, if any, finds that the Department acted in 
accordance with Department policy when it calculated Claimant’s FAP benefits for July 
1, 2014, ongoing.   
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DECISION AND ORDER 
 
Accordingly, the Department’s decision is AFFIRMED.  
 
  

 Alice C. Elkin  
 
 
 
 

Administrative Law Judge 
for Maura Corrigan, Director 

Department of Human Services 

Date Signed:  10/20/2014 
 
Date Mailed:   10/20/2014 
 
ACE / pf 
 
NOTICE OF APPEAL:  A party may appeal this Hearing Decision in the circuit court in the county in 
which he/she resides, or the circuit court in Ingham County, within 30 days of the receipt date. 
 
A party may request a rehearing or reconsideration of this Hearing Decision from the Michigan 
Administrative Hearing System (MAHS) within 30 days of the mailing date of this Hearing Decision, or 
MAHS may order a rehearing or reconsideration on its own motion.   
 
MAHS may grant a party’s Request for Rehearing or Reconsideration when one of the following exists: 
 

 Newly discovered evidence that existed at the time of the original hearing that could affect the 
outcome of the original hearing decision; 

 Misapplication of manual policy or law in the hearing decision which led to a wrong conclusion; 

 Typographical, mathematical or other obvious error in the hearing decision that affects the rights 
of the client; 

 Failure of the ALJ to address in the hearing decision relevant issues raised in the hearing 
request. 

 
The party requesting a rehearing or reconsideration must specify all reasons for the request.  MAHS will 
not review any response to a request for rehearing/reconsideration.  A request must be received in MAHS 
within 30 days of the date this Hearing Decision is mailed. 
 
A written request may be faxed or mailed to MAHS.  If submitted by fax, the written request must be faxed 
to (517) 335-6088 and be labeled as follows:  
 

Attention:  MAHS Rehearing/Reconsideration Request 
 
If submitted by mail, the written request must be addressed as follows: 
 

Michigan Administrative Hearings 
Reconsideration/Rehearing Request 

P.O. Box 30639 
Lansing, Michigan  48909-07322 
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cc:  
  
  
  
  

 




