# STATE OF MICHIGAN MICHIGAN ADMINISTRATIVE HEARING SYSTEM ADMINISTRATIVE HEARINGS FOR THE DEPARTMENT OF HUMAN SERVICES

### IN THE MATTER OF:



Reg. No.: 201335605

Issue No.: 3016

Case No.:

Hearing Date: April 17, 2013 County: SSPC-East (98)

ADMINISTRATIVE LAW JUDGE: Christian Gardocki

### **HEARING DECISION**

This matter is before the undersigned Administrative Law Judge pursuant to MCL 400.9 and MCL 400.37 following Claimant's request for a hearing. After due notice, an inperson hearing was held on April 17, 2013, from Detroit, Michigan. Participants included the above-named claimant. Participants on behalf of Department of Human Services (DHS) included Supervisor.

## <u>ISSUE</u>

The issue is whether DHS properly denied Claimant's Food Assistance Program (FAP) benefit application due to Claimant's student status.

### FINDINGS OF FACT

The Administrative Law Judge, based on the competent, material, and substantial evidence on the whole record, finds as material fact:

- 1. On 2/19/13, Claimant applied for FAP benefits.
- Claimant was the only member of a FAP benefit group.
- Claimant's application noted that he was or was going to be enrolled as a full-time student.
- 4. Beginning 3/4/13, Claimant was enrolled full-time at a vocational school.
- 5. On 3/1/13, DHS denied Claimant's FAP benefit application because Claimant was ineligible as a student and no other FAP benefit group members remained.

6. On 3/8/13, Claimant requested a hearing to dispute the FAP benefit application denial.

# **CONCLUSIONS OF LAW**

The Food Assistance Program (formerly known as the Food Stamp Program) is established by the Food Stamp Act of 1977, as amended, and is implemented by the federal regulations contained in Title 7 of the Code of Federal Regulations (CFR). DHS administers the FAP pursuant to Michigan Compiled Laws 400.10, *et seq.*, and Michigan Administrative Code R 400.3001-3015. DHS regulations are found in the Bridges Administrative Manual (BAM), the Bridges Eligibility Manual (BEM) and the Reference Tables Manual (RFT).

A person enrolled in a post-secondary education program may be in student status. BEM 245 (1/2013), p. 1. A person in student status must meet certain criteria in order to be eligible for assistance. *Id.* 

A person is in student status if he/she is aged 18 through 49 years and enrolled half-time or more in either:

- a vocational, trade, business, or technical school that normally requires a high school diploma or an equivalency certificate; or
- a regular curriculum at a college or university that offers degree programs regardless of whether a diploma is required. *Id.*, pp. 2-3.

Claimant testified that he thought the student status policy was not applicable to him because he was enrolled full-time at a vocational school, as opposed to a university. As noted above, vocational school enrollment may result in student status.

In order for a person in student status to be eligible, they must meet one of the following criteria:

- Receiving FIP.
- Enrolled in an institution of higher education as a result of participation in:
  - A JTPA program.
  - A program under section 236 of the Trade Readjustment Act of 1974 (U. S. C. 2296).
  - Another State or local government employment and training program.
- Physically or mentally unfit for employment.
- Employed for at least 20 hours per week and paid for such employment.
- Self-employed for at least 20 hours per week and earning weekly income at least equivalent to the federal minimum wage multiplied by 20 hours.
- Participating in an on-the-job training program. A person is considered to be participating in an on-the-job training program only during the period of time the person is being trained by the employer.
- Participating in a state or federally-funded work study program (funded in full or in part under Title IV-C of the Higher Education Act of 1965, as amended) during the regular school year (i.e. workstudy).

- Providing more than half of the physical care of a group member under the age of six.
- Providing more than half of the physical care of a group member age six through eleven and the local office has determined adequate child care is not available to:
  - o Enable the person to attend class and work at least 20 hours per week.
  - Participate in a state or federally-financed work study program during the regular school year.
- A single parent enrolled full-time in an institution of higher education who cares for a dependent under age 12. This includes a person who does not live with his or her spouse, who has parental control over a child who does not live with his or her natural, adoptive or stepparent. *Id.* at 3-4.

The person remains in student status while attending classes regularly. *Id.* at 4. Student status continues during official school vacations and periods of extended illness. *Id.* Student status does not continue if the student is suspended or does not intend to register for the next school term (excluding summer term). *Id.* 

It was not disputed that Claimant did not meet any of the exceptions for student status. It was not disputed that Claimant was the only potential FAP benefit group member. Accordingly, it is found that DHS properly denied Claimant's FAP benefit application due to student status.

# **DECISION AND ORDER**

The Administrative Law Judge, based upon the above findings of fact and conclusions of law, finds that DHS properly denied Claimant's FAP benefit application dated 2/19/13. The actions taken by DHS are AFFIRMED.

Christian Gardocki
Christian Gardocki
Administrative Law Judge
for Maura Corrigan, Director
Department of Human Services

Date Signed: 4/23/2013

Date Mailed: 4/23/2013

**NOTICE**: Michigan Administrative Hearing System (MAHS) may order a rehearing or reconsideration on either its own motion or at the request of a party within 30 days of the mailing date of this Decision and Order. MAHS will not order a rehearing or reconsideration on the Department's motion where the final decision cannot be implemented within 90 days of the filing of the original request. (60 days for FAP cases)

The Claimant may appeal the Decision and Order to Circuit Court within 30 days of the receipt of the Decision and Order or, if a timely request for rehearing was made, within 30 days of the receipt date of the rehearing decision.

Claimant may request a rehearing or reconsideration for the following reasons:

- A rehearing <u>MAY</u> be granted if there is newly discovered evidence that could affect the outcome
  of the original hearing decision.
- A reconsideration <u>MAY</u> be granted for any of the following reasons:
  - misapplication of manual policy or law in the hearing decision,
  - typographical errors, mathematical error, or other obvious errors in the hearing decision that effect the substantial rights of the claimant:
  - the failure of the ALJ to address other relevant issues in the hearing decision.

Request must be submitted through the local DHS office or directly to MAHS by mail at Michigan Administrative Hearings
Reconsideration/Rehearing Request
P. O. Box 30639
Lansing, Michigan 48909-07322

### CG/hw

cc: