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CONCLUSIONS OF LAW 
 

The Department of Human Service (DHS) policies are contained in the Bridges 
Administrative Manual (BAM), the Bridges Eligibility Manual (BEM), and the Reference 
Tables Manual (RFT).  Clients have the right to contest a Department decision affecting 
eligibility for benefit levels whenever it is believed that the decision is incorrect.  The 
Department Bridges Administrative Manual (BAM) 600 (February 1, 2013).  The 
Department will provide an administrative hearing to review the decision and determine 
the appropriateness of that decision.  BAM 600.  The regulations governing the hearing 
and appeal process for applicants and recipients of public assistance in Michigan are 
found in the Michigan Administrative Code (Mich Admin Code), R 400.901-400.951.   
 
The Family Independence Program (FIP) is temporary cash assistance to support a 
family’s movement to self sufficiency.  It was established pursuant to the Personal 
Responsibility and Work Opportunity Reconciliation Act of 1996, Public Law 104-193, 
42 USC 601, et seq.  The Department (formerly known as the Family Independence 
Agency) administers FIP pursuant to MCL 400.10, et seq., and Mich Admin Code, R 
400.3101 through R 400.3131.  FIP replaced the Aid to Dependent Children (ADC) 
program effective October 1, 1996.   
 

The FIP benefit program is not an entitlement.  BEM 234 (January 1, 2013).  Time limits 
are essential to establishing the temporary nature of aid as well as communicating the 
FIP philosophy to support a family’s movement to self-sufficiency.  BEM 234.  Michigan 
operates the FIP Program by using both federal and state funds. On 10/1/2007, 
Michigan law reduced the cumulative total of FIP benefits to 48 months during an 
individual’s lifetime for state funded benefits. Notwithstanding, under the FIP program, a 
family is not eligible for assistance beyond 60 months when a mandatory group member 
receives federally funded benefits. Federally funded countable months began to accrue 
for FIP on 10/1/1996.   Each month an individual receives FIP, regardless of the funding 
source (federal or state), the individual receives a count of one month. A family is no 
longer eligible for FIP when a mandatory group member in the program group reaches 
the 48-month state time limit.  BEM 234.  

The state time limit allows exemption months in which an individual does not receive a 
count towards the individual’s 48-month lifetime limit.  BEM 234.  Effective October 1, 
2011 exemption months are months an individual is deferred from participating in the 
work participation program for either of the following:  (i) domestic violence; (ii) being 65 
years of age or older; (iii) a verified disability of long-term incapacity lasting longer than 
90 days; or (iv) a spouse or parent who provides care for a spouse or child with verified 
disabilities living in the home.  BEM 234.  Once an individual reaches a FIP time-limit 
whether state or federal the FIP closes. BEM 234.  
 
In this case, Claimant did not refute the Department’s records regarding her receipt of 
benefits for the countable months. She asserts that it was unfair because she was 



201328902/MH 

3 

complying with all Department requests.  In a lawsuit regarding the constitutionality of 
the FIP time limits, the courts held that the FIP assistance time-limit policies were not 
unconstitutional.  While the undersigned sympathizes with the Claimant’s position, there 
is no jurisdiction to change or alter Department policy or state law.  I find the 
Department presented sufficient documentary evidence to establish that the Claimant 
received at least 48 months of state funded FIP assistance.  
 
Accordingly, the Department action is upheld. 
  

DECISION AND ORDER 
 

The Administrative Law Judge, based upon the above Findings of Fact and Conclusions 
of Law, and for the reasons stated on the record, finds that the Department established 
it act in accordance with policy when it closed Claimant’s FIP benefits effective February 
1, 2013 for reaching the 48 month lifetime limit for state funded FIP assistance. 
 
Accordingly, the Department’s FIP eligibility determination is hereby, AFFIRMED. 
 
 

__________________________ 
MICHELLE HOWIE 

Administrative Law Judge 
for Maura Corrigan, Director 

Department of Human Services 
Date Signed:  6/18/2013 
 
Date Mailed:   6/18/2013 
 
NOTICE:  Michigan Administrative Hearing System (MAHS) may order a rehearing or 
reconsideration on either its own motion or at the request of a party within 30 days of 
the mailing date of this Decision and Order.  MAHS will not order a rehearing or 
reconsideration on the Department's motion where the final decision cannot be 
implemented within 90 days of the filing of the original request.  (60 days for FAP cases) 
 
The Claimant may appeal the Decision and Order to Circuit Court within 30 days of the 
receipt of the Decision and Order or, if a timely request for rehearing was made, within 
30 days of the receipt date of the rehearing decision. 
 
Claimant may request a rehearing or reconsideration for the following reasons: 
 

• A rehearing MAY be granted if there is newly discovered evidence that could affect the outcome 
of the original hearing decision. 

• A reconsideration MAY be granted for any of the following reasons: 
 

 misapplication of manual policy or law in the hearing decision,  
 typographical errors, mathematical error, or other obvious errors in the hearing decision that 

effect the substantial rights of the claimant: 
 the failure of the ALJ to address other relevant issues in the hearing decision. 






