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  Appellant’s mother again requested 60 hours of 
respite care per month.   

5. Based on the assessment and the scoring tool used by the CMH, the 
CMH found that 30 hours of respite care per month were medically 
necessary.   

6. On  the CMH sent notice to Appellant notifying him that the 
request for 60 hours per month of respite was denied, but that 30 hours of 
respite per month were approved effective  

 

7. The Michigan Administrative Hearing System (MAHS) received a Request 
for Hearing filed on behalf of Appellant on  

 

8. During the hearing, the CMH’s representative stated that an additional 10 
hours of respite care services per month would be authorized, effective 
the day of the hearing.   

CONCLUSIONS OF LAW 
 
The Medical Assistance Program is established pursuant to Title XIX of the Social 
Security Act and is implemented by Title 42 of the Code of Federal Regulations (CFR).  
It is administered in accordance with state statute, the Social Welfare Act, the 
Administrative Code, and the State Plan under Title XIX of the Social Security Act 
Medical Assistance Program. 
 

Title XIX of the Social Security Act, enacted in 1965, 
authorizes Federal grants to States for medical assistance 
to low-income persons who are age 65 or over, blind, 
disabled, or members of families with dependent children or 
qualified pregnant women or children.  The program is 
jointly financed by the Federal and State governments and 
administered by States.  Within broad Federal rules, each 
State decides eligible groups, types and range of services, 
payment levels for services, and administrative and 
operating procedures.  Payments for services are made 
directly by the State to the individuals or entities that furnish 
the services.    

 
(42 CFR 430.0) 

 
The State plan is a comprehensive written statement 
submitted by the agency describing the nature and scope of 
its Medicaid program and giving assurance that it will be 
administered in conformity with the specific requirements of 
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title XIX, the regulations in this Chapter IV, and other 
applicable official issuances of the Department.  The State 
plan contains all information necessary for CMS to 
determine whether the plan can be approved to serve as a 
basis for Federal financial participation (FFP) in the State 
program. 

                                                                               (42 CFR 430.10) 
 
Section 1915(b) of the Social Security Act provides: 

  
The Secretary, to the extent he finds it to be cost-effective 
and efficient and not inconsistent with the purposes of this 
subchapter, may waive such requirements of section 1396a 
of this title (other than subsection(s) of this section) (other 
than sections 1396a(a)(15), 1396a(bb), and 1396a(a)(10)(A) 
of this title insofar as it requires provision of the care and 
services described in section  1396d(a)(2)(C) of this title) as 
may be necessary for a State… 

  
(42 USC 1396n(b)) 

 
The State of Michigan has opted to simultaneously utilize the authorities of the 1915(b) 
and 1915(c) programs to provide a continuum of services to disabled and/or elderly 
populations.  Under approval from the Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services 
(CMS) the Department of Community Health (MDCH) operates a section 1915(b) and 
1915(c) Medicaid Managed Specialty Services and Support program waiver. 
 
The Medicaid Provider Manual (MPM), Mental Health/Substance Abuse Section, 
articulates the relevant policy and, with respect to respite care services, it states: 
 

17.3.J. RESPITE CARE SERVICES 
 
Respite care services are intended to assist in maintaining a 
goal of living in a natural community home and are provided 
on a short-term, intermittent basis to relieve the beneficiary’s 
family or other primary caregiver(s) from daily stress and 
care demands during times when they are providing unpaid 
care. Respite is not intended to be provided on a continuous, 
long-term basis where it is a part of daily services that would 
enable an unpaid caregiver to work elsewhere full time. In 
those cases, community living supports, or other services of 
paid support or training staff, should be used.  Decisions 
about the methods and amounts of respite should be 
decided during person centered planning. PIHPs may not 
require active clinical treatment as a prerequisite for 
receiving respite care. These services do not supplant or 
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substitute for community living support or other services of 
paid support/training staff. 
 

▪ "Short-term" means the respite service is 
provided during a limited period of time (e.g., a 
few hours, a few days, weekends, or for 
vacations). 

 
▪ "Intermittent" means the respite service does 

not occur regularly or continuously. The service 
stops and starts repeatedly or with a time 
period in between. 

 
▪ "Primary" caregivers are typically the same 

people who provide at least some unpaid 
supports daily. 

 
▪ "Unpaid" means that respite may only be 

provided during those portions of the day when 
no one is being paid to provide the care, i.e., 
not a time when the beneficiary is receiving a 
paid State Plan (e.g., home help) or waiver 
service (e.g., community living supports) or 
service through other programs (e.g., school). 

 
Since adult beneficiaries living at home typically receive 
home help services and hire their family members, respite is 
not available when the family member is being paid to 
provide the home help service, but may be available at other 
times throughout the day when the caregiver is not paid. 
 
Respite care may be provided in the following settings: 
 

▪ Beneficiary’s home or place of residence 
 

▪ Licensed family foster care home 
 

▪ Facility approved by the State that is not a 
private residence, (e.g., group home or 
licensed respite care facility) 

 
▪ Home of a friend or relative chosen by the 

beneficiary and members of the planning team 
 

▪ Licensed camp 
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▪ In community (social/recreational) settings with 
a respite worker trained, if needed, by the 
family 

 
Respite care may not be provided in: 
 

▪ day program settings 
 

▪ ICF/MRs, nursing homes, or hospitals 
 
Respite care may not be provided by: 
 

▪ parent of a minor beneficiary receiving the 
service 

 
▪ spouse of the beneficiary served 

 
▪ beneficiary’s guardian 

 
▪ unpaid primary care giver 

 
Cost of room and board must not be included as part of the 
respite care unless provided as part of the respite care in a 
facility that is not a private residence. 

 
(MPM, Mental Health and Substance Abuse Section,  

January 1, 2012, pages 118-120) 
 
However, Medicaid beneficiaries are only entitled to medically necessary Medicaid 
covered services and the Specialty Services and Support program waiver did not waive 
the federal Medicaid regulation that requires that authorized services be medically 
necessary.  See 42 CFR 440.230.   Regarding medical necessity, the MPM provides:  
 

2.5.A. MEDICAL NECESSITY CRITERIA 
 
Mental health, developmental disabilities, and substance 
abuse services are supports, services, and treatment: 
 

▪ Necessary for screening and assessing the 
presence of a mental illness, developmental 
disability or substance use disorder; and/or 

 
▪ Required to identify and evaluate a mental 

illness, developmental disability or substance 
use disorder; and/or 
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professionals with sufficient clinical experience; 
and 

 
▪ Made within federal and state standards for 

timeliness; and 
 

▪ Sufficient in amount, scope and duration of the 
service(s) to reasonably achieve its/their 
purpose. 

 
▪ Documented in the individual plan of service.  

 
  (MPM, Mental Health and Substance Abuse Section,  

January 1, 2012, page 13) 
 

In addition to requiring medical necessity, the MPM also states that B3 supports and 
services, such as respite care services, are not intended to meet every minute of need, 
in particular when parents of children without disabilities would be expected to be 
providing care: 
 

Decisions regarding the authorization of a B3 service 
(including the amount, scope and duration) must take into 
account the PIHP’s documented capacity to reasonably and 
equitably serve other Medicaid beneficiaries who also have 
needs for these services.  The B3 supports and services are 
not intended to meet all the individual’s needs and 
preferences, as some needs may be better met by 
community and other natural supports.  Natural supports 
mean unpaid assistance provided to the beneficiary by 
people in his/her network (family, friends, neighbors, 
community volunteers) who are willing and able to provide 
such assistance.  It is reasonable to expect that parents of 
minor children with disabilities will provide the same level of 
care they would provide to their children without disabilities.  
MDCH encourages the use of natural supports to assist in 
meeting an individual's needs to the extent that the family or 
friends who provide the natural supports are willing and able 
to provide this assistance.  PIHPs may not require a 
beneficiary's natural support network to provide such 
assistance as a condition for receiving specialty mental 
health supports and services.  The use of natural supports 
must be documented in the beneficiary's individual plan of 
service.   

(MPM, Mental Health and Substance Abuse Section, 
January 1, 2012, page 106) 
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Here, CMH witness  Care Coordinator for the Utilization Management 
Section of the CMH, testified regarding the assessment and allocation of respite hours 
in this case.   testified that MDCH does not provide a screening tool for respite 
care, so the CMH has developed its own tool that is only used in Genesee County.  
According to , staff from Child and Family Services meets with the parent(s) and 
fills out the respite assessment form.  However, in conducting the respite assessment, 
the staffs that complete the respite assessments are not given the scoring tool so they 
cannot manipulate the answers on the assessment or affect the number of respite hours 
to be approved.  Those clinicians are simply charged with obtaining accurate 
information from the client when filling out the respite assessment.  Subsequently, 
Utilization Management receives a request for authorization, along with the respite 
assessment, and Utilization Management Coordinators apply a scoring tool and assign 
respite hours based on the respite assessment. 
 

 further testified that the scoring tool was changed recently in part because the 
CMH was an outlier in awarding respite hours and the old scoring tool was deemed too 
subjective.  For example, the starting point of 20 hours of respite care per month under 
the prior scoring tool has been eliminated.  Another change was to clarify the behavioral 
section in order to remove the subjectivity from the scoring and achieved more accurate 
and uniform scoring within their department.   also testified that, in her professional 
opinion, the scoring tool now being used by the CMH accurately reflects the client’s 
needs for respite services.       
 
With respect to Appellant’s score,  testified that, according to the scoring tool, 
Appellant was awarded 4 respite hours per month because he has one caregiver who 
does not work and is not a student, 2 respite hours because Appellant’s caregiver has a 
condition that interferes with the provision of care, and 2 respite hours because he has 
1-2 interventions per night or the time required to complete the intervention is less than 
an hour.   
 

 also testified that, per the scoring tool, Appellant was awarded 2 respite hours per 
month because he is verbally abusive daily, 3 respite hours because he is physically 
abusive to others daily, 3 respite hours because he destroys or disrupts property daily, 
and 1 respite hour because he has daily temper tantrums. 
 

 further testified Appellant was awarded 2 respite hours per month for mobility 
because Appellant requires shadowing or has an unsteady gait, 2 respite hours 
because he requires reminding with self care-oral care, 2 respite hours because 
Appellant is independent after set up with respect to self care-eating, 3 respite hours 
because Appellant requires assistance with self care-bathing, 2 respite hours because 
Appellant requires reminding with self care-toileting, and 2 respite hours because 
Appellant requires reminding for self care-dressing. 
 
According to  if anything in the “other clinical needs” section justifies additional 
respite hours, then the scorer could contact the scorer’s supervisor and have additional 
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hours awarded.  No such hours were awarded in this case.  According to  
everything discussed in that section was covered by other areas. 
 

 further testified that she referred to the Medicaid Provider Manual policy section for 
determination of medical necessity.  She noted that the policy allows a PIHP to employ 
various methods in order to determine the amount, scope and duration of services, 
including respite services.   also testified that respite services are to provide a 
temporary break for an unpaid caregiver and are not intended to be provided on a 
continuous or daily basis. 
 
Appellant’s  testified that Appellant requires more assistance than the respite 
assessment form suggests, including physical assistance with brushing his teeth.  She 
also testified that she has to fight and struggle with Appellant to get him to do things.  
Moreover, as part of his defiant behavior, Appellant will get violent or threaten to walk 
out. 
 
While Appellant’s  disputes answers on the respite assessment form now, she 
does not recall the assessment itself or the specific answers she gave in response to 
any questions.  Given the lack of any evidence suggesting the respite assessment form 
was inaccurate and the information available to the CMH at the time it made its 
decision, there is no basis for finding that the CMH erred in awarding respite hours in 
this case.  Nevertheless, in response to Appellant’s mother’s testimony, the CMH’s 
representative agreed to authorize an additional 10 hours of respite care per month.  
One additional hour was because Appellant requires assistance with respect to oral 
care, and not just reminding.  Three respite hours were also awarded because 
Appellant requires extensive prompting and encouragement to participate in things.  
Four respite hours were awarded because Appellant requires physical assistance with 
grooming.  Two respite hours were awarded because Appellant wanders daily.   
 
With respect to any other additional hours, Appellant bears the burden of proving by a 
preponderance of evidence that there was medical necessity for the additional hours of 
respite requested.  Here, Appellant did not meet that burden of proof.  While Appellant’s 
mother described his significant needs, those needs were expressly accounted for in 
the respite assessment form.  Outside of the answers discussed above, Appellant’s 
mother did not disagree with the respite form or identify any other issues unaccounted 
for.  The CMH adequately explained what led to a decrease in Appellant’s respite hours 
and how it calculated the number of respite hours that are medically necessary.  In 
particular, its witness described how changes in the respite assessment process could 
lead to a decrease in service despite a client’s condition remaining the same.  The CMH 
also provided evidence that it adhered to the relevant regulations and state policy by not 
authorizing respite other than to provide temporary relief for Appellant’s caregivers.  
Similarly, this Administrative Law Judge must follow the Code of Federal Regulations 
and the state Medicaid policy, and is without authority to grant respite hours not in 
accordance with those regulations and policies.   
 






