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CONCLUSIONS OF LAW 

The regulations governing the hearing and appeal process for applicants and recipients 
of public assistance in Michigan are found in the Michigan Administrative Code, MAC R 
400.901-400.951.  An opportunity for a hearing shall be granted to an applicant who 
requests a hearing because his claim for assistance is denied.  MAC R 400.903(1).   
 
Clients have the right to contest a department decision affecting eligibility or benefit 
levels whenever it is believed that the decision is incorrect.  The department will provide 
an administrative hearing to review the decision and determine the appropriateness of 
that decision.  BAM 600.   
 
The Food Assistance Program (FAP) (formerly known as the Food Stamp (FS) 
program) was established by the Food Stamp Act of 1977, as amended, and is 
implemented by the federal regulations contained in Title 7 of the Code of Federal 
Regulations (CFR).  The Department of Human Services (DHS or department) 
administers the FAP program pursuant to MCL 400.10, et seq., and MAC R 400.3001-
3015.  Department policies are found in the Bridges Administrative Manual (BAM), the 
Bridges Eligibility Manual (BEM) and the Bridges Reference Manual (BRM).   

 
Effective April 1, 2011, clients in student status are no longer eligible to receive FAP 
benefits based solely on an approved education plan.  BEM 245.  A person is in student 
status if the person is 18 through 49 years old and enrolled half-time or more in: (i) a 
vocational, trade, business, or technical school that normally requires a high school 
diploma or an equivalency certificate; or (ii) a regular curriculum at a college or 
university that offers degree programs regardless of whether a diploma is required.  
BEM 245. 
 
In order for an individual in student status to be eligible for FAP benefits, the individual 
must meet one of the following criteria: 
 

• Receiving Family Independence Program benefits. 
• Enrolled in an institution of higher education as a result of participation in: 
 

•• Approved employment -related activities. 
•• A JTPA program. 
•• A program under Section 236 of the Trade Readjustment Act of 1974. 
•• Another State or local government employment and training program. 
 

• Physically or mentally unfit for employment. 
• Employed for at least 20 hours per week and paid for such employment. 
• Self-employed for at least 20 hours per week and earning weekly income at 
least equivalent to the federal minimum wage multiplied by 20 hours. 
• Participating in an on-the-job training program. A person is considered to be 
participating in an on-the-job training program only during the period of time the 
person is being trained by the employer. 
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• Participating in a state or federally-funded work study program (funded in full or 
in part under Title IV-C of the Higher Education Act of 1965, as amended) during 
the regular school year. To qualify under this student status eligibility provision, 
the student must be approved for work study during the school term and 
anticipate actually working during that time, unless exempted because the 
student: 
 

•• Starts the month the school term begins or the month work study is 
approved, whichever is later. 
•• Continues until the end of the month in which the school term ends, or 
when you become aware that the student has refused a work-study 
assignment. 
•• Remains between terms or semesters when the break is less than a full 
month, or the student is still participating in work study during the break. 
 

• Providing more than half of the physical care of a group member under the age 
of six. 
• Providing more than half of the physical care of a group member age six 
through eleven and the local office has determined adequate child care is not 
available to: 
 

•• Enable the person to attend class and work at least 20 hours per week. 
•• Participate in a state or federally-financed work study program during 
the regular school year. 
 

• A single parent enrolled full-time in an institution of higher education who cares 
for a dependent under age 12. This includes a person who does not live with his 
or her spouse, who has parental control over a child who does not live with his or 
her natural, adoptive or stepparent.  BEM 245. 
 

For the care of a child under age six, the department shall consider the student to be 
providing physical care as long as he or she claims primary responsibility for such care, 
even though another adult may be in the FAP group.  Moreover, when determining the 
availability of adequate child care for a child between the ages of six and 11, another 
person in the home, over 18 years of age, need not be a FAP group member to provide 
care.  BEM 245. 
 
A person remains in student status while attending classes regularly.  Student status 
continues during official school vacations and periods of extended illness. Student 
status does not continue if the student is suspended or does not intend to register for 
the next school term (excluding summer term).  BEM 245. 
 
The Claimant argued that he was averaging over 20 hours of employment per week on 
April 1, 2011, and therefore met the requirements of the Student Status policy. 
 



2011-40362/KS 

 4

On January 6, 2011, the Claimant reported that there had been no change to his earned 
income.  No evidence was available during the hearing that the Claimant had reported 
employment to the Department that met the requirements of the Student Status policy. 
 
This Administrative Law Judge finds that, based on the material and substantial 
evidence presented during the hearing, the department acted in accordance with policy 
in determining that Claimant was no longer eligible for FAP benefits and closing 
Claimant’s FAP case due to student status.   
 

DECISION AND ORDER 
 
The Administrative Law Judge, based upon the above findings of fact and conclusions 
of law, decides that the department acted in accordance with policy in determining that 
Claimant was no longer eligible for FAP benefits and closing Claimant’s FAP case due 
to student status.   
 
The department’s actions are UPHELD.  It is SO ORDERED. 
 
 

      

                                           _____________________________ 
           Kevin Scully 
      Administrative Law Judge 
      for Maura D. Corrigan, Director 
      Department of Human Services 
Date Signed:    July 26, 2011         _                    
 
Date Mailed:      July 27, 2011                     
 
NOTICE:  Administrative Hearings may order a rehearing or reconsideration on either 
its own motion or at the request of a party within 30 days of the mailing date of this 
Decision and Order.  Administrative Hearings will not order a rehearing or 
reconsideration on the Department's motion where the final decision cannot be 
implemented within 60 days of the filing of the original request.   
 
The Claimant may appeal the Decision and Order to Circuit Court within 30 days of the 
receipt of the Decision and Order or, if a timely request for rehearing was made, within 
30 days of the receipt date of the rehearing decision. 
 
KS/tg 
 
 






