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(2) Initially at application, Claimant was incorrectly determined to have Medicaid-G2S with 

a deductible due to a BRIDGES error. 

(3) On January 8, 2010, Claimant was put on Disabled Adult Child Medicaid retroactive to 

November 2009 with no deductible. 

(4) The Department acknowledged at hearing that Claimant should have been eligible for 

Disabled Adult Child Medicaid and Medicare premium reimbursement benefits at the 

time of application August 5, 2009. 

(5) Claimant requested hearing on November 2, 2009 contesting the determination of his MA 

benefits. 

CONCLUSIONS OF LAW 

The Medical Assistance (MA) program is established by Title XIX of the Social Security 

Act and is implemented by Title 42 of the Code of Federal Regulations (CFR).  The Department 

of Human Services (formerly known as the Family Independence Agency) administers the MA 

program pursuant to MCL 400.10, et seq., and MCL 400.105.  Department policies are found in 

the Program Administrative Manual (PAM), the Program Eligibility Manual (PEM) and the 

Program Reference Manual (PRM). 

 MA is available to a person receiving disabled adult children's (DAC) (also called 

Childhood Disability Beneficiaries' or CDBs') RSDI benefits under section 202(d) of the Social 

Security Act if he or she: 1. Is age 18 or older; and 2. Received SSI; and 3. Ceased to be eligible 

for SSI on or after July 1, 1987, because he became entitled to DAC RSDI benefits under section 

202(d) of the Act or an increase in such RSDI benefits; and 4. Is currently receiving DAC RSDI 

benefits under section 202(d) of the Act; and, Note: To receive DAC RSDI a person must have a 
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disability or blindness that began before age 22. 5. Would be eligible for SSI without such RSDI 

benefits. BEM 158 

 Medicaid coverage includes Medicare cost-sharing benefits. This means Medicaid pays 

Medicare Part B premiums or Part A and B premiums, coinsurances and deductibles for certain 

Medicaid recipients. BAM 810 

The regulations governing the hearing and appeal process for applicants and recipients 

of public assistance in Michigan are found in the Michigan Administrative Code (MAC) 

R 400.901-.951.  Any hearing request which protests a denial, reduction, or termination of 

benefits must be filed within 90 days of the mailing of the negative action notice. MAC R 

400.902; MAC R 400.903; MAC R 400.904. 

Claimant’s mother raised issue at hearing regarding determinations and closures that 

occurred prior to August 2009. It was explained at hearing that this Administrative Law Judge 

only had jurisdiction going back 90 days from the date of the hearing request and that issues 

prior to August 2009 could not be addressed. BAM 600 

In the present case, the Department agreed that Claimant should have been eligible for 

Disabled Adult Child Medicaid as of September 1, 2009, the first month after the application was 

filed. The Department further agreed that Claimant was eligible for Medicare Premium 

reimbursements going back to the date of application. This ALJ finds that the Department has 

not acted in accordance with department policy and law in determining Medicaid and Medicaire 

Premium reimbursement eligibility.  

 

 

 






